leap year in the tropics

Happy Leap Year everyone!  I love the idea of leap years, its like a free day to catch up on everything, kind of like Daylight Savings Time, but instead of an extra hour, it’s an entire day. Which is awesome.

I wish I had ACTUALLY spent it in a warmer climate, but instead I was forced to travel there this morning through my food. Which was actually not a terrible substitution given how tasty and simple it was. I work a bit later today so decided to take a little extra time to make a nice warm bowl of oats and forego the smoothie. I’m really glad I did. It was warming, delicious and exactly what I needed to start the day!

I made a chia gel to mix into my oats because this really helps to make them filling for a long period of time.  They add lots of bulk, which takes your body time to break down without compromising taste! Plus helps to make it look like you’re eating a lot more food than you actually are which I like. I definitely enjoy eating big bowl of oats more than small one. Chia seeds are also a great source of omega-3s and fiber! See this page for more on how lovely these seeds are!

Tropical Oatmeal (Vegan, Gluten-Free Option and Refined Sugar-Free)

  • 1/3 cup oats (make sure to use certified gluten-free oats for gluten-free!)
  • 1/3 cup + a splash almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 medjool date, chopped
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes + more for topping
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla bean powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds mixed with 5 tbsp water
  • 1/2 a mango, chopped
  • hemp seeds and coconut butter to top

Put the first 7 ingredients in a pot and warm over low-medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the oats are cooked, about 10 min.

Meanwhile, mix the chia seeds with the 5 tbsp water and let sit. In a few minutes this will form a chia gel that I stirred in once the oats were cooked.

Once the oats are cooked and the chia gel is mixed in, top with the coconut butter (I do this first so it gets all melty on top), chopped mango, coconut flakes and hemp seeds. Dig in and enjoy!

All in all this breakfast is packed with lots of fibre, healthy fats and proteins and a taste of the tropics with the mango and coconut. The mango and the coconut really made it feel like I could be somehwere much further south. And with the prospect of heading outside soon looming before me, I’m glad I could experience that, even for a moment!

the drink I’m enjoying is an almond milk latté, subject of a future post ;)

Enjoy your extra day!

I am submitting this to Tessa the Domestic Diva for Allergy-Free Wednesday! http://tessadomesticdiva.blogspot.com/2012/02/allergy-free-wednesdays-6.html

4 thoughts on “leap year in the tropics

  1. MMM, it’s breakfasts here, and I am wishing i had a manila mango for some of this right now, I adore the ingredients you put together! I am thinking I would use coconut milk to up the tropical anti even more (plus I adore all things coconut!). Thanks for the inspiration AND for sharing with us on AFW!

*Comments make my day*