wiaw #21 and a special invitation

Hello again my friends :) I would like to thank you all for your kind words yesterday in regard to my 100th post! If you haven’t yet, make sure to enter my giveaway for a huge 32oz container of coconut oil! And make those cookies while you’re at it ;)

It’s Wednesday again! I’m growing to really look forward to this day of the week! I love throwing together a post of the things I’ve been loving lately and looking at what everyone else has been nibbling on.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about- it’s What I Ate Wednesday! Jenn @ Peas and Crayons hosts a weekly blog party where people share what they ate on any given day or over a period of time. It’s great for ideas! Head over to Peas and Crayons to check out more of the action!

Yesterday was a fairly average day for me, nothing too exciting and no real themes emerged. I’m a little sad to say I didn’t even work out except for 15 min of yoga in the morning and a 15 min walk later on in the day. What can I say, it was a lazy day? Hopefully even though, this month’s theme is fitness, you’ll all forgive me.

So without further ado, here’s my day of food, activities and fun!

WIAW # 21

Started the day with some lemon water and vitamins as usual

Then I did my 15 min of yoga, followed by 15 minutes of meditation. I did a simple sequence of a few sun salutations, some standing poses and a few ab moves. My meditation was the guided audio from Day 9 of the 21 Day Meditation Challenge I mentioned I was doing in my last WIAW post. I’ve been loving it so far! Today’s meditation focused on learning to listen to the intuitive knowledge of our hearts. I think this is such an important lesson, so I’m glad I’ve begun working on it. I think we could all benefit from learning to quiet our heads and all outside influences and focus on what we need and want.

IMG_1790

Breakfast was a standard green smoothie- in this one there’s a banana, blueberries, kale, a few leaves of basil, a little bit of Sunwarrior protein powder and flax seeds. Topped with fresh berries and the last of my pistachio rosewater granola.

IMG_1546

Snack was an unpictured apple with some Better’n Peanut Butter

Followed by a couple (unpictured) squares of dark chocolate.

IMG_1798

Lunch was a new to me product! Some GoGo Quinoa pasta with organic tomato sauce, bell pepper, mixed greens and nutritional yeast. Simple but tasty. Served with some of my homebrewed kombucha

IMG_1799

Snack was a smoothie again- a bit of a smaller one with half a banana, frozen cherries, a little chocolate Sunwarrior, and ice. Topped with sprouted and dehydrated buckwheat groats.

IMG_1804

Dinner was some roasted veggies with quinoa. Veggies were an assortment of what was in the fridge: beets, parsnips, carrots, pepper, broccoli and cauliflower, roasted with salt, pepper and thyme. This was so delicious! I dare even veggie haters to dislike this. I went back for a second helping of the veggies!

IMG_1807

after-dinner snack of vanilla almond rooibos tea and dark chocolate

And since this month’s theme also includes some fun! I thought I’d add in a couple photos of what I got at IKEA the other day!

IMG_1800

the bedspread! I fell even more in love with it in person

IMG_1802

a little kit that that included stencils and shakers so you can sprinkle cinnamon or cocoa on top of your drink in cool patterns

IMG_1803

A couple cool placements for food pictures :)

File:Van Gogh Almond blossom.jpg

This obviously isn’t from IKEA, but while in Ottawa I also went to the Van Gogh exhibit at the National Gallery and fell in love with this painting: Almond Blossom

And that concludes today’s What I Ate Wednesday! Now before I go, I have one more thing…

I would like to cordially invite you to the first ever “Healthy Vegan Fridays” blog party, this Friday July 27th! Basically it’s a weekly blog party where bloggers can submit healthy vegan recipes for other bloggers and readers to see. You submit recipes from your own blog, and each week myself, Shelby and Carrie will highlight our favourites, as well as the most popular ones. We hope this will be a place where bloggers and readers alike can come to get great ideas and inspiration! Click on the tab below my banner for more information, or the link I provided above. The post on Friday will have more details on how to submit recipes. Hope to see you there!

Have a great Wednesday everyone!

33 thoughts on “wiaw #21 and a special invitation

    • Thanks Heather! I have a feeling if we went shopping together, we’d have to aruge about who got to buy what- we’d want all the same things! Then again, I think you would be kind enough to let me buy all the same stuff ;)

      Hope you get a chance to share a recipe or two. Thanks for the support!

  1. Congrats on 100 posts!! (I guess now this is 101..) You are such a dedicated blogger :) and I’m super excited for your Vegan Fridays blog party — I haven’t had much time for blogging lately butttt as soon as I get back into the routine of it I’ll be sure to link up some recipes!

  2. Healthy friday sounds like an awesome idea. i will have loads to link up ;)
    that is an amazing wiaw. i should do one one of these days. My food is usually very indian centered including spicy and savory breakfasts. Snacks are usually some home made bars, fruits , granola and such and hardly any smoothies:).
    tell me about shopping for props. anything we buy for the house these days has to pass the, will this also make a decent food prop test:)

    I passed on One lovely blog award to you on my blog! :)

    • I’m glad you’re going to link-up Richa! You have so many awesome recipes to contribute.

      And thank you :) I think that’s one of my favourite things about wiaw’s- everyone eats so differently so it’s fun to get a little peak in! I need to branch out and eat savoury breakfast more- I’m definitely on a smoothie kick though and I don’t see that stopping in the heat. Hopefully when it starts cooling down I get a little more creative. Sounds like you eat pretty well- not that I’d think anything else based on your recipes ;)

      Haha and ya everytime I buy a dish or walk into a housewares store I am always on the look out for food props and if it won’t photograph well, I won’t buy it! Oh priorities…

      Aww thanks Richa! You are so kind- I have been following your blog for a long time (wayy before I started blogging) so it means a lot!

  3. Nice that you mixed in your Ikea finds, I love that store, it’s so fun! Healthy Vegan Fridays sound like a great idea, I’m in need of some new recipe ideas. :)

  4. I’ve become such a huge fan of GF pastas. I like the quinoa although its usually so much more expensive than regular pasta. I love corn pasta (and I can find that at TJs, so that’s a good thing).

    I’m glad you found that bedspread you were eyeing..I hate when you see something you want online, then go to the store only to not find it there:-( but that one is super cute and will look lovely with that art work too! So my style!

    • I’m so glad you are liking some GF products :) You’re right though, the quinoa stuff is more expensive, but I love the protein stats on it. I have some corn pasta kicking around as well and I really enjoy it. I found the colour a little off-putting at first (SO yellow) but I mean it’s all natural so I got past it ;)

      Yes I’m so happy I got it too! I wasn’t too worried though since the IKEA I went to is the largest on in North American- if they didn’t have it, no one would! lol. I am trying to get a little more adult in my decoration choices- I was living as a poor student/young adult with no direction for too long where cheap posters were all the rage ;)

  5. So many great things in this post! I’ve been feeling lazy about exercise too, but I called the gym and set up to start training again starting next Monday. Hopefully that’ll get me back in the groove. Nothing wrong with some yoga and meditation though!

    Love all of your smoothies. Summertime just begs for smoothies I think. The roasted veggies look gorgeous, I have a bunch to roast too :) Love all of the beverages in your mason jar mugs too ;) Great stuff from Ikea! Such a great store!

    Hopefully I can get my act together for this Friday, but if not then I’ll join in for next Friday!

    • That’s so exciting you’re starting to train again :) I know you’ve been missing it and personally I find no matter how long I stop exercising for (even if it’s completely my fault) my body just doesn’t feel right.

      Haha I am smoothie obsessed. I drink at least 2 a day lately- but hey, easily digestible nutrition so it’s all good right? I am loving my IKEA purchases- I can’t wait to deck out my new apartment with them!

      Join in when you can :)

  6. hey lady! so i’m intrigued by your meditation stuff. this is certainly along the lines of the mindful eating idea (which, after i get settled at my new house i want to totally pick up). i actually was recommended meditation by my therapist and bought CDs and just couldn’t do them. i have such the hard time finding time to do them. well…and motivation. have you seen that they have changed you significantly?

    • Hey Sara! So far I haven’t seen a super significant change although I have been loving the period of quiet and relaxation in my morning. I think it will take t least the full 21 days before I can give a solid opinion so I will definitely let you know :)

*Comments make my day*

