raspberry mmmmmuffins

The pastry case at Starbucks and me are fast becoming enemies. Not only does it take FOREVER to set it up in the morning (why are there soooo many items?) but it is constantly making me crave food that is just terribly bad for me! Then when I go up to the counter to get a drink on my break, I have to wait in line and stare at the cookies, loaves and muffins just daring me to order one. However, since not a single option in that case is vegan (except the bagels) or even a little wholesome I have managed to resist (and even with my discount I don’t reeaaalllly want to pay for them, they aren’t going to be thaaat amazing). But the cravings live on! So, since I have most of today free I decided to bake up my own muffins. These are healthy, vegan, gluten-free, completely whole grain and 100% delicious. They will definitely satisfy any kind of pastry craving facing you. I will be packing these in my work lunches from now on :)

Raspberry Muffins (Vegan, Gluten-Free Option, Refined Sugar Free)

Inspired by these. I know those are blueberry but raspberries were calling my name.

Makes 12 muffins.

  • 1 1/2 cups oat flour + 1 tbsp, divided (use certified gluten-free oat flour for gluten-free)
  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • generous 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • generous 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup ground chia seeds (or ground flax)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • dash apple cider vinegar
  • 7 drops stevia
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen raspberries (or any other kind you fancy)

Preheat oven to 350 (I used the convection setting so it actually ended up at 325) and grease your muffin tin. Sift the 1 1/2 cups oat flour, with the buckwheat flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl and mix well. In a second smaller bowl combine the applesauce, chia seeds, coconut oil, coconut sugar, almond milk, apple cider vinegar and stevia. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet mixture and combine well. In another bowl combine the raspberries with 1 tbsp oat flour to coat them so that the raspberries won’t bleed as much into the batter. Fold in the raspberries and spoon into the muffin tin. Bake for 22 min, or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let them cool in the pan for 5 min then transfer to a cooling rack to finish.

These are simply scrumptious. They have a little crunch and tartness from the raspberries, an earthiness from the oat and buckwheat flours and a just sweet enough without overdoing it. They were lovely plain or spread with liberal amounts of….

coconut butter

and raw almond butter.

I ate 2 right out of the oven.

Take that pastry cravings!!!

6 thoughts on “raspberry mmmmmuffins

  1. These look divine too, we have similar tastes in ingredients I can see! I can’t believe Starbucks has not figured out to add at least a couple of allergy friendly options yet, and only soy milk? Puhleeese! get with it! My mom is working for Starbucks now too (she just retired from teaching), she hates how much is thrown away…

    • Oh I know right? Almond milk anyone? They offer Kind Bars (vegan except for honey) and some dried fruit and these sweet potato chips which are gluten-free but I mean they definitely still have sugar, nuts, etc. so not great at being allergy-friendly.

      The waste does really suck. But we just got new steaming pitchers that will allow for a bit more accuracy so that will hopefully reduce milk waste. And my store donates left over pastries to a local soup kitchen, so at least those aren’t wasted!

  2. Those look yummy! I love muffins, but too often they are so sweet. These sound like the prefect balance of sweet and wholesomeness. Thanks for sharing!

    • and than you for looking! I love wholesome muffins. I have never been a fan of muffins that taste like cake…if that’s what I wanted, that’s what I would have lol

*Comments make my day*

