fancy pants granola: pistachio rosewater to be precise!

IMG_1590

You guys just floored me with your support and advice following my last post on my little health issues. You have no idea how much it means to me! As a person who blogs about health and nutrition it made me feel really bad and embarrassed that I couldn’t seem to get a handle on my own issues! I was also concerned because, as someone who eats a plant-based vegan diet, admitting nutritional issues might give people the impression that a vegan diet is incomplete, unhealthy and missing critical components. I do strongly believe in eating the way I do and I would hate to think I was doing a disservice the vegan community.

But what you guys reminded me is that health is a journey and each person needs to find the diet and tweaks that work best for them. So I will continue to blog about healthy eating and vegan recipes while exploring what works best for me. I do not believe there is one diet with specified amounts of each macro and micronutrient that will work for everyone. I just need to find my own balance. And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that :)

I have taken a lot of your suggestions to heart and I’m working to incorporate some changes that will hopefully help! I am definitely going to look at a different iron supplement and search out for a holistic health care professional when I move in September. Until then I will continue to make tweaks and adjustments.

IMG_1587

I also want to briefly mention the results of the questions I asked a few days back on what you guys would like to see more of on the blog! Well turns out you’d like a little of everything! I’ll make sure to take all your suggestions into account and keep lots of variety going on. What you can expect moving forward are:

  1. Main meals
  2. Snacks
  3. Desserts
  4. Simple ingredients
  5. Superfoods
  6. And of course, lots of nutritional info and tips!

I know a lot of this is what I do anyway, so there may not be a lot of noticeable changes, but I promise I am listening ;)

IMG_1589

I hope you all had lovely weekends! I was in Montreal celebrating my great aunts 90th birthday and her and my great uncle’s 65th wedding anniversary. They are such an inspiring couple- in their 90s but still so independent and happily married. Something to aspire to for sure! It was such a lovely gathering of family I haven’t seen in at least 7 years. A lot of them didn’t even recognize me at first (not that I can blame them, I do look quite different!). It was a running joke of the evening that at first many people thought I was my cousin’s girlfriend! Oh awkward family moments….nothing beats them lol.

IMG_1585

Today I want to share with you a beautiful granola recipe that is gluten-free, high-raw, very low in added sweeteners, low in added oil and vegan.  In addition to these stellar nutritional features it is so special and exotic tasting! The rosewater adds a delicate floral scent that when tasted creates a complexity that goes beautifully with the tartness of dried cranberries and the subtle sweetness of pistachios.

Now I know rosewater isn’t an ingredient that is commonly kept in a lot of pantries, but I urge you to purchase some and keep it around. It makes everything seem gourmet! The rest of the ingredients in this granola are fairly common and I’m sure it would taste wonderful even if you decided to forego the rosewater.

This granola features rolled oats, buckwheat groats, dried cranberries and pistachios which are complimented by a hint of cardamom and rosewater, lightly sweetened with agave. It’s lovely paired with granola and fresh seasonal fruit for a refreshing and exotic summer breakfast or snack!

IMG_1581

Pistachio Rosewater Granola (Vegan, Gluten-free*, Sugar-free, High Raw)

  • 1 cup buckwheat groats (preferably raw and sprouted)
  • 1 cup rolled oats* (preferably soaked and dehydrated)
  • 3/4 cup pistachios, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries, chopped
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes (optional)
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1 tbsp rosewater (make sure it’s food grade)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 8 drops stevia (or more agave)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt

*ensure these are certified gluten-free is this is a major concern

Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl combine the wet ingredients then add the wet to the dry and mix well, ensuring all the dry ingredients are coated.

Dehydrate for 3 hours at 105, flip the mixture over as best you can and continue drying for another 8-12 hours, or until crisp and crunchy.

IMG_1582

I am submitting this recipe to Allergy Free Wednesdays and  Wellness Weekends!

Have any of you had funny/awkward moments with family like that? Anyone get up to anything interesting over the weekend?

Have a great Monday!

40 thoughts on “fancy pants granola: pistachio rosewater to be precise!

  1. I have bookmarked this article so I can come back later and read it again. It’s extremely interesting, welasre-elrched and written. I rarely see great material these days. Thank you.

  2. You are not allowed to feel guilty at all. At all. Life is a journey and wellness is a twirling path – sometimes something that works this year might not feel great the next. Just keep listening and being kind to yourself.

    P.S. I’ve been making pistachio rosewater creations lately too. Love it.

  3. Whoa- totally fancy pants granola, love it! I actually do have some rose water left over from Baklava but havent used it since, I love the idea of adding it to granola!

    You are a huge asset to the vegan community – I don’t think you did a diservice at all by being open and sharing with the us one of the challenges you are facing- whose to say that you wouldn’t be experiecing the same lron levels that you are now if you are a meat eater – this will all get figured out Gabby, you are a smart girl, jsut listen to your body and I think it is a great idea that you continue to search for another health practicioner that me be a little more open :)

    • Thanks Heather! I was trying to think of a healthy way to use it, since most recipes I come across are for cakes and cookies, so granola just felt so perfect!

      I totally agree with you! I think people who follow vegan diets are just more aware of nutrition so we get tests done to find deficiencies, whereas many meat eaters probably don’t! That in no way means they don’t suffer the same problems! Thanks for your kind words- I am in much better spirits :) you rock!

  4. Rose water – genius! I have it but have never found anything I like with it (granted haven’y given it a good try) – this looks like a wonderful use for it! Lovely photos!

  5. It’s so nice to have such lovely support from your readers, Gabby! I really hope your iron issues come right (Mine took a LONG time…. but I am finally there!) What a beautiful sounding recipe…. rose water is such a great flavour…. I can just imagine this being served at some garden-party breakfast with delicate floral tea cups ;) Cute!

  6. definitely fancy pants material! that’s so funny that they didn’t recognize you! sounds like something my family would do too! gotta just embrace the awkwardness! haha That is so beautiful — 65 years. wow, true love right there! delicious granola, Gabby!

  7. Oooh fancy pants indeed! I’m glad that you will keep talking about your journey to finding your healthy balance. I totally understand your hesitation to talk about problems with nutrients but if people believe it is the diet they aren’t the sharpest tool in the shed. You have done everything you are supposed to do. Your body just isn’t responding. Nothing that you should be embarrassed about and I’m glad that you have recognized that! You are such an inspiration! It’s an ongoing challenge to find that balance and I’m on that same journey so I’m right here with you!

    That granola sounds delicious! I bet it smells amazing too :) I have so many things that I want to make but no time to make it! I have to make some time and just try to get it done because now I need some healthy, nutritious food more than ever! Bookmarked, of course ;)

    Glad you had a nice weekend! Your great aunt and uncle are so inspiring!

    • Thanks Sarah. I really appreciate that :) I figure if I’m going through it others are too so why not create a space to talk about it and offer support? You’re right about it not being the diet though- vegans are just hyper-aware about nutrition so we probably catch nutritional deficiencies more often than omnivores!

      It smells amazing, you’re right! And it tastes awesome too! Hopefully you have some time opening up in your schedule soon so you can play in the kitchen and fuel yourself properly! I hate not having time to make the foods I want!

      Thanks again Sarah, you are pretty awesome :)

  8. You had me at “fancy.” ;-)

    I love the combination of flavors in this granola! It sounds like it would be glorious atop some almond milk yogurt or a smoothie!

  9. I have yet to try raw granola. I actually don’t eat much granola but having fun making different versions for Rob’s breakfasts. Do you pre-dehydrate the oats and buckwheat? The savoury spices sound right up my alley and I even have rosewater. :)

    Btw, don’t sweat the nutrition stuff, although I totally hear where you are coming from. My mom is convinced I have more digestion issues now that I have gone vegan but it is just that I can no longer eat crap.. if I do, I get in trouble. Plus, it is VERY common for all women to have low iron stores! Silly menses. I took iron supplements as a teenager, and since going veg, I haven’t had any problems. I supplement with 1000mcg vit b12 though since I cant really get enough with my diet. There are tons of tips for iron absorption, but the best is to eat it with vitamin C and not calcium (that’s why multivitamins don’t really help). If you can handle it, take it on an empty stomach. Some docs even suggest taking all 3 iron pills at night, before bed, but not everyone can handle that. Anyways, I am sure things will improve.. the most important is how you are feeling. :)

    Wow- long comment! In short, you are awesome. :)

    • Raw granola is just as good as regular and you get the added bonus of the nutrients in the nuts being better preserved! In this case I did pre-soak and dehydrate the buckwheat and oats, but that’s only because I was just doing general prep for all meals and snacks. Had I just decided to prep stuff for this granola, I probably would have saved myself the time and added the oats and buckwheat soaked, but not dehydrated. Just reduce the liquid a bit, add a little more dry ingredients or increase the drying time and it should be fine.

      Thanks for all the support and tips :) I am pretty good about the vitamin C but I should re-evaluate and check out potential issues with calcium. And I do know I tend to eat a lot uncooked spinach with iron rich foods so that’s probably not the smartest :S. I have the same experience sometimes with my mom thinking I might be giving myself more problems going vegan and mostly gluten-free. But I think it’s just that I’ve got my diet pretty clean so when I eat something that is aggravating (and has always been!) I really feel it. I used to accept digestive issues as a given, but they really shouldn’t be!

      I got myself some liquid iron that I have been told is great so we’ll see how that goes!

      And by the way, you’re pretty stellar yourself :)

    • Le son préféré.( autre version )La recherchedu bonheurest comme lesoleil quichante l’harmoniedes feuillesdésolées; etcomme le sonqui revientj’écoute, en silence,la voix d&ccnuo;uqberger.Fransesro Sinibaldi

  10. This is so creative! I’ve never actually used rose water in cooking but I’m going to see if I can find it and give this a try. It looks amazing.

  11. Rosewater and pistachios in granola, you are so creative! I love cardamon and lately have been putting into lots of sweet and savoury foods like muffins and curries. Mmmmm…
    Glad you had a nice time with family in Montreal!

  12. oh yum, what a great granola recipe! it has a real indian/oriental twist to it! cardamom, rosewater, coconut- what an amazing combo! I remember drinking this cardamom lassi in the indian desert before going on the camel safari and it was the most amazing drink i had ever had before. i decided to have a second round and ask the little shop keeper what he put in it to make it so magical: cardmom and rosewater was his answer! incredible!

    • Thanks so much Alexia! Rosewater really just elevates anything you add it to! You have to be careful with it because it can taste like perfume when you add to much, but as long as you use it with a light hand, it’s just incredible!

*Comments make my day*

