wiaw # 18: rainy day snacking

Hey there friends :)

It’s Wednesday, so you know what that means! It’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday!

But before I get into that, I just thought I’d do a brief little summary on my experience with Alex’s Sugar-Free Challenge that ended in June. I’m a little late, so I apologize!

All in all, it was a very rewarding, eye-opening experience. I didn’t realize just how many foods I eat on a daily basis that include added sweeteners of some kind! Even health foods! I kept finding myself reaching for stevia for my tea, wanting to eat snacks that had agave in them, even my favourite hot sauce has sugar. It really showed me how easy it is to take in sweeteners without even noticing, leading to us craving them more and more and eating them more subsequently. I like to think I resent my taste buds a little- I’m more than happy to pass on the stevia in my drinks when not needed and I’m going to try and experiment with using dates more often.

IMG_1388IMG_1452

With sugar-free eats like my chia seed breakfast porridge and date-sweetened banana bread, going without sweeteners wasn’t all that bad!

That being said, I am very happy to reintroduce stevia, agave and maple syrup back into my life :) I received a bunch of cool products recently from food swaps that contain these ingredients and I have been itching to try them! I am trying to keep it all in moderation and was doing really well until today. I was in a very snack mood and just kept eating little bits of everything! I think it was the rainy weather.

With that, I now bring you my What I Ate Wednesday for this week! Jenn has proposed a new theme for this month…

Peas and Crayons

Fitness!

I wish I had known this was coming! My posts on pre and post workout snacks would have fit right in here! But oh well, hindsight is 20/20 right? If you missed those posts, definitely check them out, lots of good tips in there!

So for this week, I’m going to let you in on what I’ve been currently doing for exercise and then next week I’ll try and have something a little more solid planned.

So with out further ado, here are my eats from yesterday…

Pre-Breakfast

IMG_20120703_040954

My usual warm lemon water to stimulate digestion and detoxify the body. I’ve started taking an omega-3 supplement which I also take now as well as my usual iron.

Breakfast

IMG_20120703_045053

A green smoothie- I know shocker right? In the mix are a banana, blueberries, spinach, avocado, cucumber, flax seeds, maca powder and spirulina and some Perfect-Fit Protein Powder given to me by Suzi. I like this powder, but I find I can only use half a packet or it’s way too sweet. I think Sunwarrior has spoiled me ;) On top are sprouted and dehydrated buckwheat crunchies, blueberries, raspberries and a Better’n Peanut Butter sauce I made by adding water to the Better’n PB.

IMG_1546

I am in love with this stuff! Thank you so much Shelby for sending it to me! It has 100 kcal for 2 tbsp and is made with peanuts, defatted peanut-flour, sugar and salt. So not the healthiest nut butter out there, but not the worst either. It’s such a nice treat!

Snack

IMG_1544IMG_1545

A little bit of this Alter Eco Dark Chocolate Quinoa Midnight Crunch bar that was given to me by Shelby again. It’s so good! It’s really good quality chocolate, has awesome crunchy bits through it, and is fair-trade and organic! Definitely try this bar if you see it!

Lunch

IMG_1518

Lunch was leftovers from a dinner I made on the weekend- Quinoa with Kale, Raisins and Chickpeas. Recipe to come tomorrow. This wasn’t actually the plate I ate, but this picture was so much nicer.

Workout!

Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred

This is what I’ve been working on lately. I have had this DVD for a long time, but never put myself through 30 days of it. I decided that a program with a specific length that was easy to follow would be really good for helping to get me out of my extended funk of fatigue and lack of motivation. Plus, Jillian Michaels has a way of keeping me motivated like no one else! Now I haven’t been following it perfectly everyday for 30 days, but have been supplementing this with some other things. Some days I’ve done yoga instead for which I do either…

Jillian Michaels: Yoga Meltdown

another Jillian classic, or…

Slim Calm Sexy Yoga: 210 Proven Yoga Moves for Mind/Body Bliss

I use sequences from this book as well as sequences of my own devising for a more relaxing, meditative workout. It’s always good to have balance!

Anyway, I’ve done a total of 22 of her workouts from the 30 Day Shred with yoga and rest days interspersed. I’ll be sure and give a review on it when I’m done.

Post-Workout Snack

IMG_20120703_153053

A variation of my post-workout recovery smoothie. This one brought back my love affair with Vanilla Sunwarrior (I had given it up for a while since it contains stevia) and oh how I missed it! Served in my new cup! I am in love with these, especially because actual mason jar lids fit.

IMG_1548

some ginger pear white tea was had….

IMG_1549

as was some home-brewed kombucha! I first mentioned I was starting this here and guys I’ve finally gotten it to the taste and tanginess I like. I’ve decided to do the continuous batch method of brewing so all I have to do is pour a cup of kombucha out and replace it with a cup of the tea base. This way I’ll always have kombucha around :)

IMG_1240

my “fermentation station” as I like to call it. Yes I’m nerdy that way ;) Here’s where both my kombucha and sauerkraut work away!

Dinner

IMG_1550

Dinner was a snack type plate with a leftover black bean burger wrapped in lettuce, a pickle, some tomatoes and some tortilla chips. I won a giveaway hosted by Jennifer at The Foodery and it arrived today- these chips were part of it :)

Finally….

IMG_1547

One of my almost raw maple walnut cups for dessert!

And that concludes my 18th What I Ate Wednesday!

Quickly before I go- Happy 4th of July to all my American readers and fellow bloggers!

Have a great day everyone!

38 thoughts on “wiaw # 18: rainy day snacking

  1. I’m glad you’re reintroducing them – people tend to demonize sugar and it feeds the food fear culture. Everything in moderation, y’all! Your eats look delicious, especially the breakfast :) I’ve never tried Better ‘N Peanut Butter – does it taste like peanut butter? I mean, it must taste good, since you’re in love with it! I love nut butters :)

    And I neeeeeed to get some quinoa in my life! It’s so trending in the blogosphere right now!

    • You’re definitely right. I don’t think sugar is necessarily a bad thing as long as, as you said, you practice moderation! The challenge was just a way for me to re-set my tastes and showed me all the places sugar hides! I think sugar is an important part of enjoying life, just like dietary fat is!

      Thanks :) Better’N Peanut Butter does taste like PB! It has a very similar texture too. It’s like a cross between PB2 and peanut butter if you’ve ever had it. It’s definitely on the sweet side of the nut butters, so it’s a nice way to feel like you’re indulging in the more Skippy-like peanut butters without as much fat and calories! I love nut butters too- it makes me sad to think there was a time in my life I was afraid to eat them!

      Oh yes quinoa is just awesome. It’s definitely something I way in some way almost every day. It’s just so nutritious and my stomach handles it better than other grains, since it’s not technically a grain at all!

    • Thanks for hosting the challenge Alex! It was really so fun and I learned a lot. Definitely sign me up for the next one :)

      I’ll be trying to lower my sugar consumption for sure- it’ll be a work in progress!

  2. I have heard great things about the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred, I can’t wait to hear about your experience!

    Oh and I finally broke into the Q’s vegan almonds- OH MY WORD , amazing!!!

  3. The sugar free challenge is a great eye-opener huh? It really shows you need to be so AWARE when buying packaged stuff! YUM…. your day of eats look delicious, especially that quinoa crunchy chocolate + your maple cashew treat! Ha, I have a fermentation shelf that Viper made me for the kombucha + sauerkraut… we can be fermenting geeks together :)

  4. Thanks for the link to that date-sweetened banana bread. Must try that! I also make a peanut butter sauce using my Better ‘n’ PB! Love that stuff! I make mine with a drop of almond milk and some liquid stevia and it’s amazing!

    Congrats on doing the Sugar-Free Challenge, isn’t sugar-free great?? I am honestly grateful that my body reacts so poorly to sugar because it keeps me on the straight and narrow. I definitely go off it from time to time but I always feel the effects and can’t wait to get back to the sugar-free way!

    • I hope you like the banana bread! It’s very deep tasting if that makes any sense lol. Oh PB sauce is amazing- I could smother everything in that stuff! I must try it with almond milk! I’ve been out of it for a few days, I guess it’s time to make more!

      Sugar-free was amazing! It’s so nice to get out of sugar’s hold on you! I’ve been splurging a bit since but I’m hoping to get back on track soon- I just have so many goodies lying around from food swaps and recipe experimenting. I wish I didn’t like making sweets so much )

      I think I will try and go off it periodically too :) It’s always fun to challenge yourself and I’m sure our bodies appreciate it!

  5. You really inspired me with your sugar free challenge and I finally gave up my baked beans and veggie burger for a couple of weeks that have added sugar. I forgot I’d done that but actually I’ve not been feeling as good as I usually do so I wonder if I have been going through another sugar detox.
    Your green smoothies look so gorgeous and after adding chopped fruit to my 4th of July smoothie today I realised how much nicer smoothies taste with something to crunch in them. Plus it encourages you to chew them too.
    I also have the 30 day shred and Jillian’s new workout which is similar. I did it after I had my baby and got very fit very quickly with them but they were hard. I then moved to an intense 12 minute workout and then to a 4 minute workout and I’m ashamed to say for the last couple of weeks the workout has all but disappeared. Thanks for another inspiring post. Your treats look lovely. If I had them lying around I’d have wolfed down the lot by now.

    • Ya it’s definitely possible! It’s too bad how many processed foods have added sugar in them isn’t it? No wonder we get overloaded! I’m glad I inspired you to try it out!

      I love adding fruit and crunchy bits to my smoothies. It makes me feel like I’m having an actual meal. And exactly, you should be chewing your smoothies anyway so having the bites in there and eating it with a spoon really encourages that. When I drink a smoothie out of a glass I just chug it down, I can’t help it! I’m glad you liked adding the fruit! Your 4th of July smoothie sounds great!

      Which is her new workout? I have a few of hers. Her Shed and Shred and 6 Week Abs videos are good too. I definitely have more ab definition thanks to her and some plank exercises I’ve been doing. I really like short intense workouts too, especially Tabata style ones. I’ll probably talk more about that next week, since this fitness theme is for all of July. I wouldn’t worry about falling out a workout routine- it’s so easy to do and it happens to me too. Get back into it when it feels right! Your body might need this break to recover and rest!

      Thanks! Yes, those treats really are an exercise in self-control. Although realistically I have been treating myself a lot lately with all the food swap goodies I have around. Ah well, life is for living right? And I really am loving the treats :)

    • What is it about sweeteners that just make the world a better place?

      I actually do find it helps. On days when I don’t drink it, I feel off and breakfast sits heavier. This definitely wakes up my digestive system gently so breakfast doesn’t sit there. It’s also great for your liver and helps with detoxifying so no matter what effects you feel digestively, it’s still a good idea. I highly recommend it!

  6. So many amazing things in this post! That quinoa dish looks amazing, I can’t wait for the recipe! That is a must make for sure! You are so right, sugar sneaks in where you least expect it and your sugar free challenge is so inspiring! I need to get back on track, my horrible schedule has been getting the best of me!

    I still haven’t been able to find PB2, I’m so curious about it! I’m still hunting though and I’m sure I can order it online if all else fails :) I love the mason jar mug glass thing, so adorable! Very cool that you made your own kombucha too! I need to go on a cooking/prep spree when i finally have the time :) Those maple walnut cups are on the top of the list, yum!

    Have a great day, stay cool!

    • Thanks Sarah! The recipe is going up tomorrow so be sure to check back!

      Sugar is a sneaky little thing, but it seems like your schedule has been crazy hectic so I wouldn’t worry about it too much! Ease back into it, everyone is allowed to cheat sometimes!

      Definitely try and order it- I know Noelle, who sent me mine, got it off Amazon for a pretty good price (oh whyyyy can’t Canadians order food off Amazon???).

      And thanks! When I saw them I HAD to have them, no questions asked. I am so glad I made my own kombucha. It’s so good and good for you but way to expensive to be buying in the shop all the time. I’m sure I’ll buy it sometimes still fr different flavours, but I like that I have my own, made to the perfect tanginess for me :) It was actually surprisingly easy too!

      I hope you like the maple walnut cups when you make them! Let me know!

      Hope you’re days are a getting a little easier and you’re not melting at your wedding :)

  7. So glad you finally got to indulge in all your treats from your food swaps! I really wish I would have bought one of those chocolate bars for myself because they look really good (and with quinoa, no less!).

    Did you get that Boston cup at Starbucks? I collect Starbucks cups from every city I go to! I don’t have one from Boston yet :-( I’m drinking out of my Seattle one now!

    • I’m enjoying them all so much, you have no idea. I wish I could find that stuff here :( I need to research where the nearest Trader Joe’s is to me (I live about 45 min from the border so there has to be one semi=close right? lol)! The bar is so good- it reminds me of a Crunch bar but better chocolate and obviously better for you. Which is awesome because I really enjoyed Crunch bars as a kid!

      I did get that mug at Starbucks! I have 3 of them now. I wish I’d started collecting them sooner, because I am truly obsessed with mugs and I could have so many by now. That’s cool that you do that, such a nice way to remember where you’ve been :) Well if you ever want a Canada one (Kingston doesn’t actually have it’s own mug) I can totally get you one ;) I even get a discount lol.

  8. i love to come to your page and get inspired by your eats. they seriously could be mine and i would love to meet u one day for a foodie outing :) maybe we can do a foodie swap!? i am sure i could please you with looots of fun great from austria

    • Thank you so much, your comments always make my day! I know, I feel like we are food twins :) Well if I am ever in Austria or you come to Ontario we are totally doing that! I’m totally down for a swap! I bet you have so many cool things I’ve never ever heard of over there!

      Hope you are having a great day :)

*Comments make my day*

