june foodie pen pal reveal

The Lean Green Bean

Today is the day! I love food swap reveals- getting to see what everyone got and getting new product recommendations is just awesome.

For those of you who don’t know, Food Pen Pals was devised by the lovely Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean and it pairs bloggers and readers to exchange packages packed full of goodies! I’ll post specifics at the end of this post in case any of you would like to participate next month!

I received my package from Suzi at Confessions of a Fitness Instructor. I knew when I got my pairing that she would send some awesome healthy treats and she didn’t disappoint!

IMG_1400

can you see the card? It’s so cute!

So in my package I got:

IMG_1398

  • a Just Us Fair-trade Dark Chocolate Bar- I loved this! I lived in Halifax for a summer and Just Us was one of my favourite cafes there so this bar brought back memories
  • a red raspberry spritzer that was naturally sweetened with fruit juices and was really refreshing!
  • 2 packets of the Tone it Up Girl’s new protein powder Perfect Fit. If you guys haven’t checked these girls out yet, definitely do because they have awesome workouts. I haven’t tried this yet since it is sweetened with stevia and I was avoiding it for the last 10 days, but I can’t wait to!

IMG_1399

  • a few different teas- Peppermint, Chocolate Mint Oolong and Chai Spice- I love tea so these were gone very soon
  • a pack of Pocket Fruit To Go Stiks- these are so fun!
  • some homemade granola that she very kindly left the oats out from because she wasn’t sure if they had gluten. So sweet of her :) This granola was delicious and so full of goodness from nuts and seeds

Thanks again Suzi for the awesome package!

Now if you want to join the fun and participate in this food swap next month keep reading and then click here to sign up!

Here’s a detailed explanation of the program (taken from the Lean Green Bean Blog):

-On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
– Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian residents & UK residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. So, I’m going to keep two separate lists and match US w/ US and Canada w/ Canada!

***If you’re in the UK, please contact Carol Anne from This Is Rock Salt at rocksalt@thisisrocksalt.com to get involved!

That’s it for me today but I’ll be back tomorrow with a recipe! Enjoy your weekends everyone and to all my fellow Canadians, enjoy the long weekend!

23 thoughts on “june foodie pen pal reveal

  1. Pingback: Foodie Penpals « Black Cat Originals

  2. Pingback: june foodie pen pal reveal | CookingPlanet

  3. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pal June 2012 Reveal | Confessions of a Fitness Instructor

    • Hahaha it didn’t even occur to me, but this was a lovely surprise :)

      It’s funny I worked in another cafe while I lived there (Coburg Coffee if you’ve heard of it) but I favoured Just Us! lol

      Ya I worked there for a few months and just loved the city and the whole province in general. I even learned to scuba dive there. I had an amazing time!

    • It does feel really good! While it wasn’t too difficult, I gave up some of my favourite foods to do it so I’m glad I’m done. I am going to try and keep up some things though like using dates more often and not using stevia where I don’t really need it!

  4. YUMMMM!!! Looks like you got a great package and how much fun is this idea??! :-) I have signed up for next month as Lindsay has some participants in the Australasian region now! WHOOHOO! Can’t wait! xx

    • That’s so awesome! I love participating in these! I wish it was possible to organize an international one- would be so cool to get goodies from around the world! But oh well, I can settle for these I suppose ;)

  5. I participated in Foodie Penpals this month for the first time. So fun! I did the vegan swap too but waiting for my package in the mail. You got some good loot! ;)
    I totally know what a beaver tail is – yup, had a few of those as a kid!! lol

    • They are so fun! I’m glad you participated in 2, the vegan one is cool because you KNOW without a doubt the other person knows what’s up when it comes to vegan goodies. Hopefully it arrives soon! I am so impatient ;)

  6. All my favourite foodie blogs are doing this. It seems to be growing in popularity. I am kinda jealous (read: down right pissed!) that I cant join the exchange from Australia.

    • Oh no! Well I’m sure it will turn up! One of the ones I sent last month got lost, but turned right back up at my house after a while. So I got to resend it and my penpal finally got it! I know yours will find it’s way there eventually!

      I’ll cross all my fingers and toes for you :)

  7. So fun! That package looks great! I’d love to know how you like the perfect fit protein powder. I’ve been debating getting it because it is pretty inexpensive for protein powder but I love all of the added awesomeness in Vega. It may be great to try though! The teas all sound delicious too, I love trying fun new tea flavors :) Looks like a fun package!

    I would totally love to do a swap with you, maybe in August when my schedule slows down a little bit? I definitely want to make sure I have the time and energy to do it right ;)

    • I tried one of the packets of the perfect fit powder in a smoothie yesterday and unfortunately it was wayyyy too sweet for me! This isn’t abnormal for me though- even Vega I can’t tolerate the taste of a whole scoop in a smoothie, I usually use half a scoop. I’m going to try it again soon with only half the pack. I will let you know how that goes!

      I’m with you on teas- I love trying new ones so this was really fun! I really liked the chocolate mint.

      Definitely let me know about the swap :) August sounds perfect if you have the time. But don’t worry, I can be patient ;)

*Comments make my day*

