june vegan food swap reveal

Hello friends!

It’s the last day of my sugar-free challenge! Pretty awesome and it’s gone fairly well. I had a slip up a couple days ago *oh the shame ;)* when I baked some cookies to bring to a work potluck. I mean, I had to taste them to see if they were good right? At least I can say that they were healthy- I used erythritol and stevia to sweeten them so the only sugar came from the chocolate chips. Not the worst I could have done! It was my first time using erythritol and I really loved it! The cookies were a huge hit, but they were all eaten before I could take a picture! I’m going to make a some more though so don’t worry, you’ll get the recipe. I’ve never had cookies go so fast!

Today’s post is all about 2 food swaps I participated in this last month.

First Ill talk about the Vegan Food Swap where I was paired with Kelly from Three and a Half Vegans. It’s a lovely blog with so much goodness going on. A recipe for “Beaver Tails”?? I mean COME ON! All you Canadians out there, especially those who have been to Ottawa will know what I’m talking about. It’s basically fried dough with awesome toppings that I used to eat every winter when I’d go skating on the canal. Kelly’s post on it brought me right back to those wonderful winters!

I have to say as well, Kelly is such a sweetheart. There was a mix up and I didn’t get a partner at first. Well I realized this pretty late but Kelly offered to take me on as her second partner, which she didn’t have to. So thanks again Kelly, I really appreciated it :).

Kelly sent me an awesome package of Indian themed goodies which I thought was so cool!

IMG_1362

look at all that scrumptiousness!

The first thing I opened was the bag of Lay’s Magic Masala Chips. I LOVE chips, but rarely buy them because I am guaranteed to eat the whole bag in one sitting. This was such a special treat and such a cool flavour. They were a little spicy, a little sweet and a lotta tasty!

IMG_1363

I really liked this little thing on the back of the bag :)

Also in the package was:

  • Pav Bhaji Masala and Garam Masala spice blends. I’m so excited to put these to use! Indian food has to be one of my favourite cuisines.
  • A bag of black salt powder which I put to use in my tofu scramble recipe and it totally brought the dish to a whole new level. Thanks for introducing me to this ingredient Kelly!

IMG_1432

  • a pack of Lucy’s gluten-free Ginger Snaps. I have been doing a sugar-free challenge (which I will update you on since today’s the last day!) so I haven’t had them yet but I love ginger so can’t imagine I won’t like them
  • A bag of Rhythm Superfoods Kale Chips in Bombay Spice. I love me some kale chips and these were an amazing flavour!
  • 2 packets of Just a Pinch salts- one Cyprus Flake Sea Salt and one Murray River Australia Pink Flake Salt. I used the Cyprus flake sea salt in those radishes I roasted up and oh my goodness was it delicious. I’m hoarding the rest of it ;). The Murray River salt, I’ve been using in all kinds of things like sauces, dressings and just sprinkling on my meals. It’s so pretty too!

IMG_1459

Thanks again Kelly! And thank you so much to Michelle over at MeShell in Your City for organizing this food swap! If you live in Canada and want to join in, head over to her blog and sign up. If you are from the U.S. Cat from The Verdant Life does a similar one.

Next was a little vegan food swap myself and Shelby from Everyday Vegan Girl set up on our own! We were saying how it was too bad we’d never get paired together in these food swaps because we lived in different countries. We took matters into our own hands though and each mailed some goodies to each other!

Shelby outdid herself! Take a look at what she got me:

IMG_1405

  • some Better’n Peanut Butter- when my obsession with PB2 became public knowledge, Shelby decided I had to try this stuff. I haven’t yet because of my sugar-free challenge (ahh timing!) but you can be it’s being opened tomorrow ;)
  • Wasabi Roasted seaweed snack from Trader Joe’s- I went into a Trader Joe’s when I visited Boston because I’d heard so many good things but didn’t get anything because the line was so long. So I was really excited to see some of their products in my package! And seaweed I loooove seaweed so these are just awesome!
  • Some California dates from Shelby’s home state :) The went into making this delicious banana bread

IMG_1452

  • some of her homemade Coconut Granola. Guys go make this stuff now. It’s seriously amazing.
  • Other Trader Joe’s goodies including: organic ginger pear white tea (delicious!), dried pineapple, pineapple juice and organic maple sugar. I love how she included so many tropical flavours!
  • a Vegan Cheesy Salad Booster- has been topping my work salads for a week or so now- great flavour and nutrition!
  • an Alter Eco Dark Chocolate Quinoa Midnight Crunch bar (not eaten yet since there’s sugar, but I can’t wait)
  • a truebar in Walnut Cappuccino (she knows how much I love walnuts)
  • and Newman’s Own Ginger Mints. I love ginger :)

Thank you so much again Shelby! She has an amazing memory for things we’ve discussed before (Ginger Mints!) and was just so thoughtful in her choices. You’re just awesome girl!

This also seems like a good opportunity to fill you in on a little secret between myself, Shelby and Carrie from Carrie on Vegan. We are putting together a fun little party for vegan whole-food recipes! I will update you more on this soon, but check back for updates.

Also, check back tomorrow for my reveal of the Foodie Penpals food swap. I’m a crazy person I know for all this food swapping. But when you like food as much as I do, what else would be expected?

See you all tomorrow!

29 thoughts on “june vegan food swap reveal

  1. Hey Gabby! Once you try that Dark Quinoa bar, let us know how you like it— we’ll send you a little sampling of our new packs, along with a couple other Alter Eco vegan bars ;)
    -The Alter Eco Team

  2. Pingback: june vegan food swap reveal | CookingPlanet

  3. Muarry River salt!!! I’ve been to the Muarry river, and I ALWAYS buy that stuff – it’s awesome! Glad you got a taste of Aussie :) All your treats sound wonderful – happy weekend to you!

  4. Okay, you guys are all about as adorable as they come. Truthfully, I can’t really handle it, it’s so awesome! What fun to look forward to, these swaps :) Wow! There is (finally) a little package on its way for you too….just got it done today after all this craziness has settled! Have a great weekend Gabby!

    • Haha you are my favourite Shira :) thank you! It’s so much fun, like Christmas all the time!

      I’m so excited to get yours! Is life settling down a bit for you now? You were mad busy for a while there.

      Happy Canada Day!

  5. Pingback: june vegan food swap reveal | the veggie nook | Why Go Vegetarian

  6. Pingback: june vegan food swap reveal | the veggie nook | Universal Vegan

  7. I am more throughly convinced you are the Canadian version of me…your post is reading so much like mine that I’m posting tomorrow! You’ll see what I mean when you read it tomorrow!

    I’m so glad you are enjoying everything I sent and can’t wait to hear how you like (or love!) that PB.

    Your Indian-themed package looks scrumptious. I love Indian food too although I definitely don’t make or have enough of it. Those Lays are totally funny and wish I could find those here!

    • Hehe I’m so excited to get home and read it now! But ya seriously we are so on the same wavelength!

      I really am enjoying everything- sugar free challenge is over so guess what is getting eaten for my snack today ;)

      Indian is one of my favourites too but I rarely cook it myself. Now I have a reason too!

      Have a lovely weekend!

  8. Yay how fun! I definitely want to participate in another swap soon! they are so fun! The homemade granola sounds so delicious along with the ginger snaps! A themed package is so fun! How awesome are those seaweed snacks?! I’ve only had the regular and the sesame since I’m not a huge fan of wasabi but I’m totally obsessed with them! SO fun! I think we should set up a swap sometime ;) Is the shipping annoying with customs and everything?

    • The seaweed snacks are so good! I love wasabi and the flavour is good because it forces me to eat them slow ;) otherwise they’d be gone by now!

      I’d totally do a swap with you :) sending to the US was definitely more than the shipping for my Canadian swaps but customs was fine! I marked it as a gift and that usually helps. It was fun so I didn’t mind the extra cost!

      Just let know if you ever want to do one!

  9. I’m so excited! I joined the vegan food swap this month. I did Foodie Pen Pals this month and it was AH MAY ZING, I’m so excited for reveal day!

  10. Food swaps are just such an amazing idea – I’d love to do one with someone near a Traders Joes! Maybe someone should set up some sort of match.com equivalent for matching up hungry vegans around the world?! I’m really interested to hear how the quinoa chocolate is!

*Comments make my day*

