cherry chocolate chip cookies

Hello my friends!

I have a present for you all…

 IMG_0429

Will you accept? There’s chocolate and cherries involved…it’s even healthy!

In reality, these cookies are my little gift to you before I take a mini vacation from the blogosphere. I’m going to Boston for 4 days tomorrow! I’m leaving for Toronto tonight to meet up with a friend, then we fly out tomorrow. I’m so excited to take a little vacation with her. We don’t get to see each other nearly often enough, so when the seat sale popped up we just couldn’t resist. The weather is supposed to be great all 4 days luckily enough and we’ve only made plans to do a couple things while we’re there too so there will be plenty of meandering around which is one of my favourite things to do in a new city!

Don’t forget about me while I’m gone! I’ll make you more cookies, promise :)

IMG_0430

Cherry Chocolate Cookies (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

These cookies are a great twist on the traditional chocolate chipper. Big chunks of dried cherries and chocolate surrounded by cookie dough that is soft on the inside, crisp on the outside and made with whole grains, nuts, coconut oil, and no refined-sugars (except in those chocolate chips)! You can feel good about treating yourself to a couple of these as a late night treat. Eating these hot from the oven with a big ol’ glass of almond milk is highly recommended.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

  • 52 g oat flour (ensure certified for gluten-free)
  • 52 g ground almonds
  • 52 g tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup (Lundberg brand is gluten-free)
  • 10 drops stevia
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp ground chia mixed with 3 tbsp water, set aside to gel
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 oz dark chocolate (chips or chopped into chunks, ensure dairy-free for vegan)
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries

Combine the first 7 ingredients in a medium sized bowl. Using a hand mixer beat together the coconut oil and the brown rice syrup then add the stevia, applesauce, chia gel and vanilla and beat for a couple minutes. Add in 1/2 the flour mixture and beat until fully incorporated then add in the second half. Beat for a few minutes so it gets nice and aerated and the flours have time to absorbs the liquid (gluten-free flours take longer to do this than wheat). Fold in the chocolate and the cherries. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate the dough for at least one hour or up to a day. This will make the dough more manageable (it’s really sticky).

Preheat oven to 350°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Scoop heaping tablespoons of dough onto the baking tray about an inch a part and flatten with your hand.  Bake for 15 minute for a softer cookie or 20 min for a crispier one. These are fairly soft cookies so even if you bake for 20 min, they will still be soft on the inside. Allow to cool a few minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to a cooling rack. Eat slightly warm out of the oven for a gooey treat!

IMG_0439

And with that  I bid you farewell for a few days! I will miss you guys but it will be so nice to have a break from everything, even if it’s a short one!

I’ll try and have a post up for Wednesday, but I get home very late Tuesday night and work bright and early Wednesday morning so forgive me if I don’t get one out till Thursday. Also, I probably won’t be able to read any blogs or answer comments while I’m gone, but I’ll try and get to it as soon as I return :) Have a lovely weekend and beginning to next week everyone!

I am submitting this post to Allergy-Free Wednesdays!

33 thoughts on “cherry chocolate chip cookies

  1. Pingback: Allergy-Free Wednesdays: June 20, 2012 | The Willing Cook

  2. Oh enjoy your time with your friend…. sounds like it will be a fun few days – plus these cookies sound amazing :) Make sure to take lots of photos of your adventure!

  3. So yeah. When you’re done in Boston and on your way to my house for burgers, you can bring these. That’s all.

    Oh, and you’re so awesome! :-)

  4. These look amazing Gabby – I gladly accept your cookie gift :)

    I love how many “good for you” ingredients are in this recipe – they sound super healthy – I never thought to use brown rice syrup in cookies…..I love it in homemade granola bars and other treats. Such an inspiring recipe!

    Have fun in Boston! I live about 2 hours North of Boston in NH :), Boston is such a great city, you are going to have a blast!

    • Phew, I’m so glad you like it!

      Brown rice syrup is an idea I got from Vegan Cookies invade your cookie jar. They use it in a few recipes and they were some of my favourites! I’m glad you like the look of these cookies. They don’t taste healthy, trust me ;)

      Thanks, I will be sure to have a splendid time! I mean there’s no work, I get to hang out with one of my best friends and explore a new city. How could it not be amazing :)

  5. Hi Gabby! Loooooove your blog!
    These look awesome! If I don’t have xanthan gum, what can I use instead? (arrowroot maybe?)
    Have a blast in Boston…great city!

    • Thank you Laura, I’m so glad you like it!

      If you don’t have xanthan gum, I would try another binder. I know raw buckwheat groats ground into a powder work well as do chia and flax, so maybe one of those? Xanthan gum helps is all hold together instead of being crumbly.

      Thanks for dropping a line. I loved hearing from you! I’ll be sure to have a grand adventure :)

  6. How exciting that you are able to visit your friend! I know how you feel, my friends are scattered all over the country and I rarely get to see any of them so I know how exciting it is to be able to take advantage of this deal! I hope you have an amazing time with your friend :) I also love wandering around a new city, I think you experience more that way! Can’t wait to see what you find!

    Those cookies sound so delicious!! Definitely want to try these! Luckily my cleanse ends today!! ;)

    Have fun and safe travels!

    • I’m so excited Sarah you have no idea! Getting to travel and see friends is amazing, and even more amazing when I get to do them at the same time!

      Congrats on finishing your cleanse! You did so well :)

      I’ll be sure to have lots of fun :) Talk soon!

    • Oh totally. I’m sure I will be doing A LOT of eating to fuel my walking. Eating is always a huge part of my trips. I like not having a plan either- If you are rushed trying to stick to a schedule, you can miss so many things!

*Comments make my day*

