wiaw # 13–getting back in the groove

Wow is it Wednesday already? Actually, wait, is it my 13th WIAW?? How did that happen? It feels like I only just posted my first one, and here I am going strong on 3 months worth of them. The passage of time is scary people. Now the summer will be over before I know it and I’ll be in school and living in Toronto! Studying what I love :) Ok wait I’m getting ahead of myself- I should enjoy the summer first, school will come soon enough.

I am pleased to report, I am starting to feel more myself again! I am not completely there, I still get really tired in the afternoons, but I am finding that until around 2 or 3 I am feeling good and I have started working out again! I’m going to save what I think helped get me this far in another post, but for now, I would just like to say thank you to all of you lovely people who offered me support and advice in the last couple weeks! I was getting very discouraged but your comments would help cheer me up and strengthen my resolve :) You are some beautiful people!

Now my eats this past little while have been awesome. Heaps of delicious food so it’s a good WIAW in my opinion. I didn’t get around to taking pictures of all my eats from one day, but this compilation should give you a pretty good idea of what I’ve been eating lately.

And as always, thanks to Jenn @ Peas and Crayons for hosting!

As you can see, I had some fun with adding text into my photos…

Recent Breakfasts

IMG_1035

PB2 is a new addiction of mine. I know I’m a little late to the party on that one but I was finally able to try it thanks to Noelle at Opera Singer in the Kitchen who offered to do a swap with me and send me some! I am in love with it! For those of you who don’t know, PB2 is a powdered peanut butter which is made of defatted, powdered peanuts and some sugar and salt. You reconstitute it with water to make a spread that is much lower in fat than traditional peanut butter. Is it exactly like peanut butter? No. Is it delicious? YES! She sent me the original and chocolate flavours and I am addicted. I can’t wait to experiment with it more! What am I going to do when I run out?

IMG_1062

something real different for me ;) Delicious either way! Topped with the last of my Love Grown Granola. I was hoarding it!

Recent Lunches

IMG_1064

something I made from Practically Raw! Cauliflower rice that I finally like! I also added avocado and used red pepper, and didn’t use the mushrooms. Topped with lots of Bragg’s and hot sauce. Absolutely delicious. I think this will become a raw staple!

Oh I noticed Amber at Almost Vegan, the author of this cookbook is hosting a giveaway for it on her blog! Hop on over there and check it out!

IMG_1123

some super awesome avocado potato salad I concocted. Look for the recipe soon! With tofu and my super easy sugar-free ketchup.

Recent Snacks & Drinks

IMG_1113

after my post on coconut oil coffee, I just had to try it with Dandy Blend. I did and it’s delicious!

IMG_1115

sunwarrior chocolate protein powder, 1/2 a banana and almond milk. YUM and exactly what I needed after a workout.

IMG_1060

recipe to come!

Recent Dinners

IMG_1057

pretty self explanatory- topped with some pumpkin seed parm. Trying to eat more pumpkin seeds since they are high in iron!

IMG_1077

my mom made this delicious meal! the rice was a little sticky (rice cooker malfunction) but it was good nonetheless

All this food probably makes it look like I’ve taken a departure from raw foods! I haven’t, these were just the most interesting things I happened to eat that I haven’t shown you before.

That’s it for me today! Have a lovely Wednesday!

50 thoughts on “wiaw # 13–getting back in the groove

      • That’s so awesome! I almost went to one of the holistic nutrition schools in TO years ago… went to culinary school and yoga school instead. But I’ve always thought it would be great to take some courses. Hope you’ll share your new knowledge with us!

      • I think I want to go to culinary school after- really round out my foodie-ness :) And being a yoga teacher is a dream of mine as well- so cool you did both! Where did you go for culinary school?

        I will for sure be sharing! I can’t wait to incorporate my education into the blog!

  1. Yum, raw sushi bowl sounds great… I LOVE cauliflower rice but Viper thinks I’m a weirdo for eating it. Ha. Great to hear you are on the up up UP health wise – I’m interested to read about what has helped you out through this rough patch. Oh mu golly gosh I MUST try coconut oil in my dandy – brilliant :)

  2. Loving your pics Gabby! So creative – and all your food looks so good! Good to hear you are better and riding the ups and downs with a good attitude – as that is essential when ups and downs are inevitable (which we all know they SO are!). Have a great week! xo!

    • Haha thanks Shira. I was afraid my pics looked silly, but I love them so I went with it ;)

      Thanks for all your kindness and support over the last few days! It has honestly helped so much :) You have a great week too Shira!

  3. Hey, better late than never to the PB2 party! I swear by that stuff…have you had Better N Peanut Butter? It is also lower in fat and calories (not quite as low as PB2 but lower than reg pb), and they have a chocolate and banana flavored kind. Very good and creamy. I think I’m late to the green smoothie party as I have yet to try them. I’d probably do them in a bowl so I feel like I’m eating not drinking my food. How funny about your avo potato salad…I debated between using avo or pesto for mine. I went with the pesto and it turned out bad…shouldve known avocado was the way to go! Looks like you got another date bite…can’t wait for recipe!

    • I’ve never had Better N PB, never saw it here! I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled though. It’s funny, I love PB and don’t care about the fat- I eat nut butters all the time still, but for some reason all these low fat versions of it are so appealing to me. I’m finding PB is so good for mixing in banana soft serve, smoothies and drinks though so I guess the uses are slightly different.

      Green smoothies will always be there for when you decide to try them :) Spinach is the easiest green (both for taste and for my blender) but I love kale and collards too. Cucumber is delish as well!

      The potato salad happened totally by accident and I’m so happy how it turned out! The date bite recipe is next up!

  4. You WIAW always make me so hungry!

    ….I just went online on amazon and ordered some PB2 & LOve Grown Granola – can’t wait to try them out this weekend – thanks for sharing 2 terrific finds :)

  5. any time the word “pancake” is followed by the word “smothered,” you KNOW you’re going to be having an off-the-hook meal! especially if PEANUT BUTTER is doing the smothering! yum! never tried PB2 — I’ve seen it, but always chicken out at the checkout. i’ll have to give it a go! thanks for sharing!

  6. I’m so glad that you are finally feeling better! Unfortunately it takes a while as I’m still not 100% either but it’ll happen!

    So many wonderful things in this post! I’ve heard of PB2 but have never tried it. Do they add a lot of sugar in there? I’ve heard that adding defatted peanut flour (which I guess is essentially what that is?) to your smoothies is a really great protein boost! I should check for this stuff at Whole Foods tomorrow. The chocolate flavor sounds so good! And the pancakes look so tasty!

    The blueberry muffin bites look delicious! Definitely looking forward to that recipe! I don’t eat pasta a lot at all but when I do that’s exactly the way I like it!

    Hope you have a great day! Hopefully you’ll continue to feel better every day!

    • Thanks my dear :) I’m getting there! Oh you’ll probably find this a little funny- I started feeling better, then I hurt my shoulder, making working out painful! I’m sure it’s no where near your issue, but it made me think of you and our struggles.

      PB2 is so good in smoothies- made 2 today and I think it will be part of my smoothie rotation from now on (or until I run out). It’s a great protein boost without adding too much extra fat. I checked on the sugar for you- it’s only 1g per 2 tbsp of the powder, so not bad at all. It’s not overly sweet when you mix it up, so it definitely has less sugar than a conventional peanut butter like Skippy would have. WAY less.

      Hope you have a great day as well! Fingers crossed it’s all up hill for both of us :)

      • Oh no! Take care of that shoulder! It’s amazing how much it can impact your workout and your life when you hurt it. I am starting to think a Vitamin D deficiency may have caused all of my muscle pain and weakness. Ever since I started taking my vitamins I have been feeling so much better!

  7. I love the raw sushi bowl! I make a deconstructed sushi bowl that’s pretty delish, but it’s definitely not raw. I’m also drooling over the sweet potato and chickpea curry – definitely going to have to give that a go once I have time to cook!

    • I love sushi, but I’m lazy/cheap so don’t eat it nearly as much as I’d like. This was the perfect way to get my fix! I’d tried cauliflower rice before and wasn’t a fan but with those seasonings and add-ins, I’m a convert!

      Sweet potato just goes so well with curry! It’s one of my favourite meals. I’ll see if I can get my mom to give me te recipe and I can post it!

  8. What a lovely, refreshing blog you have! Those pancakes look divine! I also love peanut flour but consider it completely in its own league separate from pb, which is delicious as well. sugar free ketchup? Perfect! I’ve been looking for a recipe because I hadn’t had it for years because it was too sweet and grossed me out but had a small taste lately and decided I’d like it if I made my own. I’ll be making that.

    • Thank you so much :) You are so kind!

      Yes peanut flour will never replace my lovely nut butters, but it’s definitely delicious in it’s own right. Fantastic in smoothies I’m discovering as well as a sauce. It’s great when you’re out of nut butter, like I am right now.

      Hope you like the ketchup!

  9. glad you are feeling more like yourself, so great! and no wonder because your food looks so healthy and delicious. i recently discovered pb2 myself (i felt late too!) and it is truly wonderful. of course in my world it doesn’t ‘replace’ regular ole peanut butter but certainly has a multitude of uses that i’m enjoying exploring!

    • Thank you! I’m going to be studying Holistic Nutrition- I’m so excited to be immersed in the health food world :)

      That’s so exciting you might be there too! I can’t wait to try out all the restaurants, go to the markets and just bask in the awesomeness that is Toronto.

  10. yummy dishes from last week! I adore your smoothie bowls! i dont have a suitable bowl to eat my smoothie out of so i use a big huge class. my toppings dont float as nicely as yours though i guess i should use some more substantial fruit. :))) i am craving for nori rolls so after seeing your photos!!!

    I am so happy that you found back to yourself, it always takes time when you are in a difficult situation. Maybe you have to go through some changes. EMBRACE THEM!

    • I love my bowls too :) As soon as I saw them I just knew that’s what they were destined for! Plus they have cute little designs on the side and bottom (not that you could see them lol) that make me excited to eat my breakfast in the morning before I’ve even made it!

      I do like my thick smoothies- I tend to add less liquid then I see in other people’s versions- plus ya, frozen fruit or chia seeds helps too :)

      Thanks for all your support my friend :) I’m not there yet, but changes are happening for the better. You’re right, sometimes you need to hit a slump so you can rise on up!

*Comments make my day*

