raw wheat thin crackers and a kettle cuisine product review and giveaway!

Hello you fabulous readers :)

How’s is everyone’s weekend going? I hope you had insanely good weather like we did here in Kingston. It was straight up summer, complete with pool-weather temperatures! Spent a ton of time outside and loved every second of it!

IMG_0972

it’s beginning to look like summer out in the backyard :)

IMG_0973

It’s been nice to catch up on some rest in a location other than the couch- while I do appreciate being super cosy inside with my mug of tea, getting lounge outside with an ice cold beverage is a welcome change! I’m still feeling pretty blah but the glorious weather is helping!

So the other week, I opened up the freezer in search of some frozen fruit to make myself up a smoothie I noticed the sheer amounts of nut pulp that were hanging out in there. I mean I know I make my own milks fairly often, at least once a week, if not more, but I never really thought about how much nut pulp that created! Every batch I make makes about 1 cup of pulp- multiply that by how many times I’ve made and you get left with a whole lot of pulp! So I decided it was time to make use of some of it. I figure it was win win- make some room in the freezer and get the most out of those raw organic nuts I buy ;)

IMG_0854

These crackers are the results of that mission. They taste so similar to wheat thins, which were some of my favourite crackers growing up. Slightly sweet, a little salty, crunchy and textured. Basically the perfect cracker. They were perfect for scooping up dips, soup or just eating by the handful!

What I love about using almond pulp to make these crackers…they are basically free! The almond pulp is leftover from making almond milk, therefore basically costs you nothing. Plus this ensures nothing is wasted! The rest of the ingredients are fairly low in cost, therefore these are not only healthful but very economic crackers!

Plus you are getting loads of awesome fibre from the pulp itself! That makes these filling, wholesome little bites that will actually make a dent in my seemingly endless hunger!

IMG_0855

Raw “Wheat Thins” (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Raw)

Inspired by Angela’s baked whole wheat version over at Oh She Glows, these helped use up leftover pulp from making almond milk and taste delicious! The flavour is pretty neutral, just like wheat thins, so they are great for loading on tasty toppings :)

I made a small batch here since I was experimenting but the recipe is easily doubled for twice the deliciousness.

  • 1 cup packed dry almond pulp (from making almond milk with 1 cup almonds)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 1/2 tsp finely ground sea salt + more for sprinkling
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 drops plain stevia
  • sesame seeds for sprinkling

Combine the almond pulp, flax seeds, sea salt and paprika in a large bowl. In a small bowl mix together the olive oil, water and stevia then add to the dry ingredients. Mix well. You should be able to form a ball with the dough that will hold together. Add more water with needed, but make sure the dough isn’t wet.

Place the dough on a teflex or parchment paper lined dehydrator sheet and form into a rectangle. Place another sheet of parchment paper over the dough and use a rolling-pin to flatten in out as thin as you can. The thinner they are, the shorter time they’ll take! Take the top sheet of parchment paper off the dough and using a pizza cutter score the dough to the desired shapes and size. Again, the smaller you slice, the less time they’ll take.

Dehydrate at 145 for 1 hour, then turn it down to 105 and dehydrate for another 2 hours. They will still be raw don’t worry- the food will never reach a temperature higher than 115 but having it at 145 for an hour will decrease the dehydrating time significantly.

Take the crackers out and carefully break them apart along the scored lines. Flip them over and dehydrate another 9-17 hours depending on the thinness, size you cut them and how crisp you’d like them!

I am submitting this recipe to Allergy-Free Wednesdays!

WAIT!! I’m not done with you yet! What goes perfectly with crackers? Soup! I always make sure to have crackers on hand to crumble into my soups. There’s just something about the way they start out being crunchy but then get soggy and meld into the soup. I must get it from my dad who adds so many cracker to his soup there’s barely any liquid left!

Anyway, I was lucky enough to be contacted by Kettle Cuisine to do a review of their gluten-free soups that were recently released in Canada.

Kettle Cuisine

When they initially contacted me I popped on over to their website to check out their offerings and I was really impressed with what I found. They use all natural, whole ingredients to make soups from scratch in their certified gluten-free kitchens. Here’s a blurb from their website:

Each of our soups is crafted with painstaking attention to detail. We search out the finest ingredients, we hand-prepare our vegetables and meats and we cook our all natural soups in small batches, adding each ingredient at just the right moment.

They offered to send me 5 soups, 2 of which were vegan and 3 were meat-containing which I let my parents try. And I have to say I was really impressed with the quality of food they delivered. Each soup is packaged frozen in an individual serving portion. I reheated them following the directions for the stove top and in the microwave and was surprised by how good they were!

IMG_0725IMG_0719

This was the three bean chilli which I made on the stovetop. Very easy to make, no hassle. It has an awesome texture- so loaded with beans and it was really flavourful! It had a surprising kick to it too, which I wasn’t expecting since I find most store-bought chilli’s go easy on the spices and I always have to add more. I really enjoyed this as it and with a little nutritional yeast sprinkled on top. I served it with a salad and slice of bread to make a complete meal!

IMG_0779IMG_0774

This was the tomato soup with garden vegetables. I was again impressed but all the stuff they packed in there! It was full of loads of vegetables and wasn’t the bland tomato soup you usually find in a can. It was well spiced, was very warming and made a great snack! If you paired with some bread and a salad it would be a great meal as well!

My parents got the opportunity to try the other 3: the Angus Beef Steak Chilli with Beans, The New England Clam Chowder and the Chicken Soup with Rice Noodles. They both really enjoyed the soups as well! The beef steak chilli was hearty, the new England clam chowder was creamy but not too heavy and the chicken soup was just like Grandma used to make. All three could be enjoyed as is, which is definitely rare for pre-made soups, at least it is in the this house! I would definitely buy them again and my dad even asked if I knew where to buy them here. I haven’t seen them yet in Kingston  but I’m definitely going to keep my eyes peeled.!

And now I’m pleased to tell you that Kettle Cuisine wants to give one of my readers the chance to try these as well! And believe me, tasty, gluten-free, vegan, convenient options can be pretty tricky to find so you’ll want to try these!

Kettle Cuisine is giving away a prize pack which includes a handy cooler lunch bag, some branded goodies and $25 gift card for product purchase. That’s a lot of delicious gluten-free soups!

To enter: leave a comment below telling me what your favourite kind of soup is! For me it’s a toss-up between a creamy butternut squash or miso soup!

For 2 additional entries follow me on twitter and tweet about the giveaway! Leave me a separate comment for each telling me you did with your handle!

I’ll announce the winner on Friday, May 25!

Anyway, that’s it for me today! Hope you all have a lovely Monday, whether it’s a holiday for you or not and I’ll be seeing you soon! Happy May 2-4 my fellow Canadians!

51 thoughts on “raw wheat thin crackers and a kettle cuisine product review and giveaway!

  1. Hi Gabby,
    Do you think these crackers would work by processing whole almonds into a meal instead of using the pulp from making almond milk? Unfortunately I don’t have a high speed blender… :(

    • Hey Laura! I think that would definitely work! I don’t have a fancy blender like a Vitamix either but my Ninja does a good enough job for nut milks. Hopefully one day we’ll both have one and be instant raw food goddesses ;)

  2. Pingback: Grain Free Sandwich Bread, Grain Free “Wheat Thins”, DF Cheese Sauce, Chok’lit Caramel Chews & More ~ 5/30/12

  3. Man, me and you are SO on the same wave-length, I’ve just made some raw crackers using almond pulp too! Great minds, great minds. I was so surprised that mine were YUM (they were a sweet cracker) Yours look great, and I have a freezer full of nut pulp too – these are my next cracker trial for sure :)

  4. I am still yet to try Miso Soup! I need to get onto it, pronto! At the moment I’m loving a Moroccan Chickpea soup from my local soup bar. It is spicy and delicious and even has raisins in it! NOM!

  5. Hmm.. favorite soup would have to be a veggie chicken noodle! Not the healthiest, but reminds me of being a kid. :) Thanks for the giveaway!!

  6. I have to agree with you, Miso soup is my favorite right now. :)
    I love the idea of your crackers! Do you have a excalibur dehydrator? I can’t wait to be able afford one. ;) LOL I am going to try these crackers! oh yum!

    • Yes I do have an excalibur dehydrator! It’s the smallest one they sell, but that’s all I really need for now, plus it was within my budget. I am in love with it and highly recommend the brand!

      There’s just something so comforting about miso soup- it’s my go-to when I’m feeling under the weather!

  7. I was just eating wheat thins yesterday and was thinking there MUST be a way to recreate them with healthier and unprocessed ingredients! Can’t wait to try this. Oh and if I were to use store-bought almond meal do you think I would use the same amount as the pulp you use?
    Those soups sound great– my favorite would have to be this Thai coconut curry soup made with roasted bananas that a family friend made last winter- I’ve never had anything like it but it was amazing! I also love anything with butternut and warm spices like ginger. This buttercup & kale stew with tahini is one of my favorite recipes: http://www.carascravings.com/2011/03/vanilla-scented-buttercup-and-kale-stew-with-tahini-my-blogiversary-and-giveaway.html
    Hope you have a wonderful week!

    • Ya I would expects you’d use the same amount of almond meal! Might even be better than the pulp ;)

      Wow that soup with roasted bananas sounds epic. Clearly I need to try roasting them because I can’t get it out of my head!

      Thanks for the recipe recommendation- looks delicious! Definitely something I’ll try out on a chilly evening!

  8. This is so creative – you are becoming a Raw Foodie Pro! I LOVE Wheathins – your version looks 100 times better and I am sure amazingly good for you!

  9. I love your recipe for the crackers. I have not made it yet to make my own milk, but will definitely keep this in mind when I get there…
    I love all soups, especially thick ones that contain like a bazillion veggies! I make a hearty veggie stew, but I also love lentil soup. I’m with you on the butternut squash and miso soups…both are awesome!

    • Thanks Shelby! I love using up my almond pulp, gives me a sense of accomplishment :). Definitely try making our own milk. It’s a lot easier than I expected and tastes so delicious. Plus you can make your own flavours up and deviate from the plain, vanilla and chocolate options at the stores (not that I ever really bought the flavours but still lol)

      Stews are great too, especially really chunky ones. I think I could live off soups for the rest of my life and be ok with it!

  10. I love the wheat thin recipe!! I, too, have gobs of nut meal hanging about the freezer and I used to absolutely adore Wheat Thins. Yay!! Also, way cool about the giveaway! (A red lentil soup is one of my big faves – but gosh – I love so many different kinds!) I’ll be tweeting the giveaway as well. Fun!

    • Haha nut pulp is a never ending struggle! I’m always trying to find different ways to use it- recreating old favourites and cleaning out the freezer in one shot is a great feeling!

      Oh good call on the red lentil! So creamy feeling even though there’s no cream!

      Thanks for the tweets :)

  11. I’m sorry you are still feeling yucky but I totally agree that warm, sunny weather can really help with energy and mood! Lovely photos of the garden. I’m so excited that summer is on the way!

    You are officially my hero. Wheat thins were one of my favorite snacks when I was a kid and I really miss them now that I’m gluten free. This recipe sounds perfect! Can I just use finely ground almonds if I don’t have pulp? I’m thinking I’m going to get a small, inexpensive dehydrator soon to play with! This will be one of the first recipes I try for sure!

    I love soups that are packed with tons of veggies! I usually go for a garden veggie soup with a tomato base, but I also like lentil soup and split pea soup :)

*Comments make my day*

