raw banana granola- no oil, no sugar, no grains!

Good day all! Another rainy, cloudy day here in Kingston! But that’s all right, I am armed with my book (go read the Song of Fire and Ice series if you haven’t already, do it!) and DVDs of Smallville. Today is going to be a-okay!

IMG_0706

Today I’m going to share my raw granola recipe that I dreamed up a couple weeks ago and first showed you here. This was my first big success with the dehydrator. I honestly could not stop eating this stuff it’s so good, and with no added sugar and no oil, it’s no problem that I couldn’t! This granola doesn’t have any grains either and relies entirely on buckwheat (a psuedograin) and raw nuts and seeds).  This means it’s great for those on a grain-free diet and is packed with loads of nutrition! It was perfect on it’s own with almond milk, with berries, on top of smoothies, on top of puddings…basically on top of anything :) You could probably also try baking this, and I’ve left a guess as to what those directions would be at the end.

This recipe is very forgiving. It could be modified to suit your tastes or whatever nuts/seeds you have on hand. Just keep the proportions the same and you should be good!

IMG_0716

Raw Banana Granola with No Added Sugar or Oil! (Vegan, Gluten-free, Sugar-free, Raw)

The flavour of the banana is very prevalent and combined with the dates this granola is just sweet enough. Lots of crunch from the buckwheat nuts and seeds and loads of clumps, just as granola should have!

  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup pitted medjool dates
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean powder (or vanilla extract)
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 8 drops vanilla stevia
  • 2 tsp water or more (if needed)
  • 3/4 cup buckwheat groats, soaked 1 hour

Pulse the first 8 ingredients in a food processor until desired consistency is reached (add vanilla extract with the banana if not using the powder). I did it until the nuts were chopped fairly small with some larger chunks and the dates were in small pieces. Like this picture:

IMG_0676

Empty the mixture into a large bowl.

Mash the banana in a small bowl and mix with the stevia and vanilla extract if using,

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and add the buckwheat groats and mix until well combined and sticky. Add the water as needed to get everything full incorporated and coated.

Place on teflex or parchment paper lined dehydrator sheets in a thin layer. Dehydrate at 105°F for 3 hours. Carefully flip the granola over. Doing so will break it up a bit but that’s ok, helps create the chunks! Dehydrate for another 9 hours or until dry and crunchy.

Alternatively you could try baking it at around 250 for an hour or 350 for around 25-30 min. If anyone does try this please let me know what worked for you!

IMG_0710

Serve with fruit, almond milk, or whatever you choose. It’s bound to be tasty. Especially if you eat it with an awesome spoon….

IMG_0708

got it for my dad for Christmas. Love it!

I’m submitting this recipe to Allergy Free Wednesdays, Allergy Friendly Fridays and Wellness Weekends!

Before I go 2 shout outs and heartfelt thanks to give! Thank you to Dudette who nominated me for the Sunshine Award! Thank you so much my dear :)

Now I have to answer you 7 questions about myself :)

1. Favorite color? green, dark purple and charcoal
2. Favorite animal? dogs, especially huskies
3. Favorite number? 4
4. Favorite non-alcoholic drink? water is the best, but green tea is a winner too
5. Prefer Facebook or Twitter? Facebook I guess for keeping in touch with people. But I’m really starting to love this Twitter thing…
6. My passion? healthy food, cooking, eating ;), traveling, reading and yoga!
7. Prefer getting or giving presents? I like both- it’s fun to be surprised yourself and to make other people happy!
8. Favorite pattern? Not sure. I think the pattern on the sides of my blog is pretty cool though.
9. Favorite day of the week? Days I don’t work, get to cook a good breakfast where I can drink my tea outside and listen to the birds. It’s the simple things that do it for me :)
10. Favorite flower? Roses. Sounds typical girl I know, but I love the way they die- so dramatic!

For this I’m not going to nominate the 10-12 bloggers as I’m supposed to (who needs rules psssh) but I will nominate and say a special hello to the lovely Ali and Jef at the bear and the blackberry. Their blog makes me laugh so hard I cry! Delicious looking food too!

And thank you to Heather at Sunday Morning Banana Pancakes for the Versatile Blogger Award. Love you girl! You have stellar photography and food that makes me wish they had invented technology that would allow me to reach through my computer screen and grab a bite :)

I’m supposed to tell you 7 random things about myself for this one, but I think the above questions should suffice don’t you??

That’s it for me today! Enjoy your next couple of days and come back here on Saturday- I’ll be participating in a super-special blogger event. There’s lots of good food to be seen I promise you!

40 thoughts on “raw banana granola- no oil, no sugar, no grains!

  1. Gabby, the granola is marvelous. Sooooo banana-y and crunchy and sweet and healthy. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

  2. I’m so excited – I am making this right now! I tried some of the “batter” before putting it into the dehydrator and it tastes amazing, I am so excited for the finished product tonight! We are going on a canoe trip this weekend so I thought this would be perfect to bring along for breakfast and snacking. Next time I’m gonna double the batch – I wonder what the best way to store it is? Airtight container in the cupboard?

      • Gabby, this granola is FANTASTIC!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. The flavor is just so great, which at times can be hard to find or create when you don’t pile on the added sugar. I’ll be making this all the time, and I think it would be a great gift to give as well! It’s so easy to make and all you gotta do is wait around for it come out of the dehydrator. That’s probably the worst part haha! Cheers :)

      • YAYYYY! I knew I loved it, but do you ever create and post a recipe and wonder if anyone else will? Thank you so much for letting me know! I hope it comes in handy on your camping trip :)

        And believe me, I already have many granola-themed gift ideas wandering around my head ;)

  3. This recipe has just convinced me that I need to get myself a dehydrator – this looks so incredible, i LOVE raw granola – I really wish there was a way you could mail me a BIG package of this – so so good and incredible!

  4. Hmm. Students clearly get taught a different method of counting to 7 in your country ;)

    This granola looks incredible! All the delicious things.

  5. i’m always looking for new and different (and health!) granola recipes. i love adding it (if you haven’t noticed by now) to my cereal in the morning, this is really unique although i’m not sure about the buckwheat groats!

  6. Oh I am SO making this… sounds awesome, love how the nuts and dates are all blended up to make the “glue” for those chunky bits of crunchy joy! I usually just eat buckwheat straight up (I know, I’m weird) but this sounds delicious, I reckon I could even get Viper to eat it!

  7. Um. That spoon is AMAZING! OMG I’m so jealous, that is awesome!

    OK sorry, I had a moment :) That granola sounds SOOOOOOO good! Raw granola is so expensive but this sounds like a really affordable and delicious way to enjoy granola! I’m seriously having some major dehydrator envy right now! Bookmarked!

  8. I’ve been looking for a good way to make granola with no oil…every time I try it just doesn’t work…I will try out yours! Btw..are you doing the vegan potluck on Saturday?

    • I hope you like it! I’ve done it with only a tiny amount of oil before with baking (check out my chocolate cherry granola) but I was so pleased with how good this one turned out! Maybe the dehydrating is the key?

      I certainly am doing the potluck! You are too right? I’m pretty pumped about my recipe and getting to see everyone else’s!

*Comments make my day*

