oatmeal raisin cookie green smoothie

Happy weekend everyone! I hope you have been enjoying some good weather like I have here. Summer’s on the way, I can feel it!

I created this smoothie recipe quite a while ago actually but have been waiting for a while to post it. I made it first here, but because I wanted to tweak it until it was perfect I never posted it. Then I decided it was so good, I sent the recipe to my foodie penpals and wanted to make sure they got to make it first before I shared it on the blogosphere. I can say it was very well received. Cher gave it two thumbs up and you can read what she said here on my foodie penpals reveal post! I’m not sure what Megan thought but hopefully she enjoyed it too!

And without further ado, I give you the oatmeal raisin cookie green smoothie…

IMG_0459

You all need this green smoothie in your life.

This a green smoothie to:

  1. convert all green smoothie skeptics,
  2. eat in a bowl (which is the best kind!), and
  3. satisfy all dessert cravings

Not fruity, just sweet, cinnamon-y, oat-y, raisin-y goodness.

I’ve made this smoothie many times now and I think I have the ratios perfected! It has an awesome chew from the oats and raisins that are added in after blending* and great consistency from the addition of a little less milk than would normally go in and the xanthan gum.

* This is actually really handy because I read recently that you should actually chew our smoothies to help with proper digestion. You don’t even have to remind yourself with this one!

And while it tastes like a dessert, there is no added sugar or fat and has whole grains and veggies in it! So healthy you can (and I have multiple times) eat it for breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner.

IMG_0458

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Green Smoothie (Vegan, Gluten-Free*, Refined Sugar-Free and Raw*)

*make sure to use certified raw/gluten-free oats if these are important for you :)

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1/3 cup non-dairy milk (I used homemade almond milk)
  • 1 medjool date, soaked and pitted (or 1 tbsp soaked raisins works too!)
  • 2 tbsp oats + 2 tbsp oats, divided
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • splash vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp xanthan gun (optional but really helps give it a thick texture)
  • 1 tbsp raisins, chopped

Throw the banana, spinach, milk, date, 2 tbsp oats, almond butter, cinnamon and xanthan gum in a blender and blend until smooth.

Pour into a bowl and add in the other 2 tbsp oats and the chopped raisins and stir to distribute them throughout.

IMG_0460

What it looks like after mixing- don’t let this picture fool you. The lumps are the best part ;)

Next up: my take on dry skin brushing and a raw granola recipe! Which would you all rather see first?

Have a great Sunday everyone!

I am sharing this recipe on: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Allergy-Free Wednesdays, Allergy-Friendly Fridays and Wellness Weekends!

48 thoughts on “oatmeal raisin cookie green smoothie

  1. Thank you for this lovely recipe. What a great idea to eat your green smoothies in a bowl. I don’t know why I didn’t think of them for my Green Thickies (green smoothies with oats and seeds) as they are always pretty thick. Another thing you could do to thicken it up is add more oats. I usually add half a cup per portion. This makes it even more filling as I don’t have time for snacking so need to make sure I can last until my next meal. I’ll have to give this recipe a try. It sound just like my Dessert Thickies which are thick smoothies that taste like regular desserts. Here is the Apple Pie Dessert Smoothie if you want to try it: You’ll find links to the other ones there too: http://www.greenthickies.com/healthy-apple-pie-smoothie-dessert-thickie

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #3, Featuring Furikake Panko-Crusted Ahi « T h e F o o d e r y

  3. Pingback: What is the difference between eating raw veggies and eating steamed or cooked veggies?

  4. I made this for breakfast this morning! I added 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped raw walnuts too. Such a creative idea! It was delicious :)

  5. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #2, Featuring Chicken Tikka « T h e F o o d e r y

  6. Hi, Gabby! I made this smoothie with some substitutions: instead of 1 frozen banana I used 1/2 plus 1/4 avocado (left out xanthan gum,) peanut butter instead of almond butter, and kale instead of spinach. I also used two of my fudgy cocoa bites instead of dates & raisins (the fudgy bites contained both.) DELICIOUS!!! I love the texture, flavors, and even though it’s not a hot bowl of oatmeal it’s such a cozy breakfast. This almost never made it to my bowl, I just wanted to eat it straight from the blender. Wonderful breakfast recipe, thank you! :D

  7. I totally love this idea! And I love the idea of eating it in a bowl even more! I found you through An Unrefined Vegan and I’ve gotta say- I’m so happy I did. Love your site!

  8. Reblogged this on my sleepy kitchen and commented:
    I’ve been intrigued by the idea of Green Smoothies recently; I like the idea of getting so much fruit and leafy greens into one drink, but was hesitant to try one (how could spinach in a smoothie possibly taste good?!) However, this post from The Veggie Nook convinced me to give them a go. I made this recipe for lunch today and it tasted amazing! Aside from the colour, I had no idea that there was any spinach lurking in my smoothie, and the cinnamon made it taste amazing. I’ll definitely be trying more green smoothie recipes, and encourage you to try making one yourself.

  9. Wow – this looks so good! I might just give this a go tomorrow Gabby – I love the ingredient list – I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • Yay :) It’s probably my favourite smoothie ever. I made it like 10 times before I started my cleanse (silly oats being grains and all that, didn’t get to have it for 2 WHOLE WEEKS). So happy I have made it past that part- I enjoyed this smoothie this morning :)

      Let me know how you like it!

      Have a lovely Monday Shira!

  10. Yum!! I’ve been wanting to make an oatmeal raisin smoothie for a while and yours sounds so good! I’ll definitely have to keep this recipe in mind. You know I love when my smoothies taste like muffins or cookies :)

    Thanks for sharing the recipe! I’m glad you decided it was finally time!

  11. You had me at “oatmeal raisin cookie!” :) I will try this as soon as I get some oats, thanks for the new recipe! And I’d like to hear about dry skin brushing, too.

  12. Hi Gabby! This post came at the perfect time; yesterday I was researching green smoothies and decided it was time to make the plunge! I’ve been a little hesitant but would like to find a way to up my fruits & veggies and cut down on grains – so this seems like a great way to do it! It’s on my list to try this week…
    I’d love to hear about skin brushing – I do it occasionally, but more information would probably encourage me to do it more.
    Thanks for the recipe!

*Comments make my day*

