april showers bring foodie swaps!!

Last month I participated in 2 super fun events that connect foodies all across the country with each other to exchange delicious food. Having never participated in one of these before, I went a little over board and signed up for 2! But it was so much fun to go shopping for food goodies to send to my matches and of course, so much fun to receive my own! Food shopping and eating are 2 of my favourite things, so how could I go wrong? Today is reveal day and I’m so excited to share with you all what I got!

First up: April Foodie Pen Pals

Here’s a little info on the swap:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your pen pal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your pen pal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your pen pal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

If you’re interested in participating for May, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by May 4th as pairings will be emailed on May 5th!
*If you’re from somewhere besides the US, Canada or Europe and want to participate, send me an email and I’ll see if we get enough interest this month!

Who I sent my package to

Now little guest post for you :). This comes from Cher, who I was matched to send items to. Cher doesn’t write a blog so she is going to share what I sent her here for you all. So I’ll hand it over to her!

Hi Veggie Nook readers!

My name is Cher and I was paired with Gabby for Foodie Penpals. I don’t write a blog myself, but I read many of them. When I stumbled across Foodie Penpals I thought it sounded fun and decided to give it a shot. When I saw that I was paired with Gabby I headed over to her blog right away. After getting a feel for her lifestyle and tastes I knew I had a great match! I told Gabby I was a vegetarian with a sweet tooth and a love for nut butters and she delivered perfectly!

image

My package included:

  • Giddy Yoyo Raw mint chocolate bar
  • Kayer dark chocolate truffle bar, sweetened with coconut sugar!
  • A dark chocolate acai bar
  • HempHogs hazelnut chocolate
  • Dark chocolate covered pomegranate
  • A peanut butter chocolate chip Larabar
  • Two packages of nut butters: macadamia nut and pecan
  • Local raw honey
  • A cookie cutter! A handwritten note! And! A recipe for a delicious smoothie! I didn’t include the recipe because Gabby has yet to display it on the blog, but I can tell you that when she does, you have to drop everything you’re doing and make it. Its a good one!

I dug into the macadamia nut butter and honey immediately upon opening. I am half-way through the mint and dark chocolate truffle bars (amazing!!) A handful here and there from the dark chocolate covered pomegranate turned into an empty bag somehow.

Gabby did a perfect job! I even sent my Foodie Penpal match a couple of the same things!

The cookie cutter and the smoothie recipe were incredibly thoughtful additions that made receiving my package that much better!

Thank you so much Gabby! I could not have chosen better myself!

**You’re so welcome Cher :). I had a ton of fun picking out goodies for you!

What I Received

And now for what I received! I received my package from Bonnie who blogs over at Sitting on the Moon and she did a great job finding loads of unique things from where she lives and a trip she took. These are all things I have never tried but loved!

IMG_0628

The package included: coffee and tea (YUM! Especially the Honey Chamomile- I loved it!), a box of Dirty Rice Mix (such an easy and tasty meal, served up with some beans and guac- so good!), spice blends for making delicious dips (Garlic and Sundried Tomato- I mixed the garlic mix into some cashew cream with some lemon juice and it was sooo good with veggies!), some candles (I LOVE candles), some chocolate eggs,  and a stick of rock sugar which was such a special treat! Plus look at the box she sent this all in:

IMG_0630

The box is so cute I was smiling before I even opened it. Thank you so much Bonnie! It was a pleasure to meet you!

Next up: Vegan Food Swap!

How It Works:
1. Sign up by completing the form at MeShell’s blog. This is for Canadian Residents only, solely to limit the amount of customs issues you might experience with cross boarder shipping. It might be fun to do an international swap in the future, stay tuned.
2. On/about the 7th of the month, you’ll receive an e-mail from me containing the name and e-mail address of your Vegan Food Swap match. You’ll need to contact them to get their mailing address and any food specifics (allergies, gluten-free, etc.)
3. Collect items that you’ve purchased or made and box them up. Let’s keep the spending limit under $20 Canadian.
4. By the 15th of the month, ship your package to your Vegan Food Swap match.
5. On the last day of the month, post an entry on your blog about what you received, and be sure to include a shout-out to the person who sent you the box!

For this one I was paired up with Megan over at Vegan Cookbook Aficionado, so check out her blog for a look at what I sent her :). It was really fun getting to shop for vegan goodies that I wouldn’t normally buy except for special occasions.

I received my package from Lisa at Vegan Culinary Crusade. Firstly, I could not express enough my excitement at being paired with her. I have followed her blog for a long time and I admire her deeply. She is always cooking up amazing looking food and watching her travels around the world last year had me living vicariously through her. She is a great role model and if you haven’t checked out her blog you are missing out. So go over there!

IMG_0627

She is also very skilled at putting together vegan food packages :) She included a few vegan products from Toronto that aren’t available in Kingston so that was really exciting! In My package were: Live organic raw curry pumpkin nori crackers (holy amazing! You can see from the picture they had already been dug into before I could snap a picture), Sweets from the Earth nanaimo bar (such a decadent treat!), Cleo’s peanut butter cups (do you even have to ask?), a blueberry and peanut butter chocolate chip LARABAR (2 of my favourite flavours!) and some lucuma powder  I had never tried lucuma powder before but had always wanted to- I don’t know how she knew that! This was a a great sized package to sample and I have been using it to sweeten my almond milk and chia seed puddings. It’s almost gone and that makes me sad!

So thank you Lisa :) It was lovely getting to meet you!

I highly recommend either of these swaps, or go crazy and sign up for both like I did! It’s so much fun to meet other foodies and try out products and ingredients I have never seen where I lived!

Needless to say, I will be signing up for both again :)

Finally I’m going to take a quick second to mention the Virtual Vegan Potluck that is being organized by Ann over at An Unrefined Vegan. Now I’m sure you’ve all heard of this by now since I’m a little late to the game to spread the word, but it’s such a cool idea so if you haven’t signed up for it yet I urge you to! You just pick a course you would like to prepare a dish for, then we’ll all post the recipes on May 12. It will be a virtual feast! Last day to sign up is today! You don’t need to know the exact dish, just the course (appetizer, main, bread, dessert, etc.). I’ll be making dessert!

Virtual Vegan Potluck

Hope you have a great Monday everyone. I FINALLY have a day off tomorrow (worked 8 days straight!) so I’m pretty pumped it’s Monday even if the rest of the world isn’t :)

19 thoughts on “april showers bring foodie swaps!!

  1. Okay okay okay hold the phone. How do I do this from Japan? Is this plausible? I may have hated sharing when I was five years old, but damned if I don’t wanna do it now. What d’you reckon?

  2. Can I tell you how happy I am to have found your blog! Super happy.

    Both of these foodie swaps look like so much fun, I am heading over to check out the pen pal one -:)

  3. Love the food swap. We have a food swap here in Colorado called Mile High Food Swappers that my friend Eve runs. It is wonderful. Hundreds of people come and the diversity of products, baked goods and canned items is amazing. I love the whole food swap wave!

  4. Enjoy your day off Gabby – and while I am in TO, I am tempted to track down those hard to find items..like those amazing sounding crackers?! Yum! Sounds lika blast! xo!

  5. OMG this sounds so cool! I am so jealous haha I wish I lived in Canada so that I could swap stuff! What a fun thing to do! and yummy…mmm food pen pals lol then again I am fighting with my inner chunky monkey.

  6. Yay! Foodie swaps are so fun!! I can’t wait to participate in another one! Looks like you got some really great vegan treats! Definitely going to check out what kinds of yummy treats you sent out to your lucky recipients! Thanks for sharing, I love seeing what people send and receive in swaps!

    Enjoy your day off, you definitely deserve it!

    • I know eh? People could just give me food as gifts for the rest of my life and I would be 100% happy. It is so much fun to shop for and receive (and of course eat!). It was like having 2 birthdays last month :).

      Thank you, I definitely need the rest. My body is just screaming for a day to lounge in comfies, drinking hot beverages and watching movies.

  7. I’m a little behind but I’m hoping to get my post up tomorrow.
    I can’t believe you took part in two swaps! I don’t blame you, they’re super fun. Thanks again for my package, it was so awesome, I’m not ashamed to say that they chocolate bars are long gone :)

  8. I’ve been reading about the foodie pen pals – really fun idea – not quite ready to commit, though! It’s really interesting to see the variety of yummy products. Gabby, thanks so much for mentioning the Potluck – you’re a gem!

    • I think that was my favourite part- being exposed to products I’ve never even heard of! Plus it’s nice be connected with people I never would have been before- part of the reason I started blogging in the first place!

      And of course :) I’m sorry I didn’t do it sooner! My brain is like a sieve sometimes lol.

*Comments make my day*

