wiaw # 8! raw cashew tomato dip for the win

Wow I can’t believe this is already the second WIAW of my cleanse! This is flying by, and I honestly don’t feel deprived or like I’m missing out on my favourite foods. I think it’s because instead of focusing on all the things I can’t have (which is really easy to do in a cleanse since you are cutting specific things out), I’m focusing on all the things I can enjoy! It’s gotten me to try some really delicious foods and dishes that I never would have otherwise (i.e.: non-chocolate desserts). I can’t wait to show you guys all the delicious foods I’ve been eating and creating!

I really think this is the key to any change in diet, whether it’s a small one like reducing sugar consumption or large like going vegetarian or gluten-free:

Focus on the positive! What you CAN eat, not what you CAN’T. What new dishes you get to try, not the old favourites. The new adventures you get to have instead of the comfortable stand-bys. And that being said, look at what you already eat that already fits in with your diet change.

This has helped a ton over the last few weeks, especially since at work I am surrounded by delicious caffeinated and sugar-laden beverages. I just think about all the delicious drinks I can make at home!

In other news: dehydrating is coming along nicely! I have now successfully made some granola and plan on trying out some more cookies tomorrow! I think I’m getting the hang of this thing :)

And now onto…

 WIAW: Cleanse Edition #2!

Pre-breakfast and Breakfast

Pre-breakfast was the usual glass of lemon water

IMG_0618IMG_0620

Breakfast was a super-delicious green smoothie that I’m calling a blueberry pomegranate smoothie. So packed with antioxidants! Accompanied by a mug of Dandy Blend with a drop of chocolate stevia and hazelnut milk. Definitely helped warm me up after the chilling smoothie.

Mini Meals/Snacks

IMG_0142

a pear

IMG_0144

Sprouted quinoa with a raw “meat sauce” that I concocted. Has a really meaty texture!

IMG_0684

A romaine wrap with the above mentioned meat sauce (I made A LOT of it) and a raw cookie topped with cashew cream (I may have had a few more of these after the picture but ssshhhh). I wasn’t too sure about those cookies at first, but then I found myself continually going back for more! And iced with cashew cream, I mean what isn’t good with cashew cream?? For this cashew cream I blended in dates and it gave an earthy sweetness. Thanks for the suggestion Lou!

Dinner

IMG_0694

An AMAZING dinner: Sweet Potato Fries with Raw Cashew Tomato Dip and Spirulina Steamed Greens. This obviously wasn’t a raw meal, but that’s ok! I still met my goals for the day and this is definitely still nutritious! Recipes below!

Sweet Potato Fries with Raw Cashew Tomato Dip (Vegan, Gluten-free, Sugar-Free)

These fries have just the right amount of spice and the cashew tomato dip is so good, I swear I could just eat spoonfuls of it! It doesn’t taste exactly like ketchup- it’s creamier and not quite as sweet, but I would use it anywhere I would use ketchup. And don’t be afraid to load it on- Cashews give this dip loads of healthy fats and there is no added sugar! Dip away my friends!

IMG_0690

Fries:

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 tsp avocado oil (or whatever high-smoke-point oil you choose!)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano

Slice the sweet potato into fries and toss with the other ingredients to coat. Bake at 350°F for about 45 min, until soft on the inside and crispy on the outside, turning once halfway.

Raw Cashew Tomato Dip:

  • 1/4 cup raw cashews, soaked
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes (I’m sure any tomato you choose would work)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 tsp garlic powder
  • heaping 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 drops stevia
  • fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1/16 tsp all spice + an extra little pinch (this really made the dip for me!)

Blend all ingredients together. Store in a sealed container in the fridge. Some separation will occur, but just stir before using and you’re good to go.

Spirulina Steamed Greens (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free)

IMG_0693

These greens have loads of flavour from the nutritional yeast and coconut aminos and are nutritional powerhouses! The spirulina (a blue-green algae) is a complete protein and has loads of good minerals and vitamins (like Vitamin A and B12 and iron), the coconut aminos has amino acids and the nutritional yeast has B12! And of course there are the greens themselves- steamed spinach and kale are packed full of the good stuff. Spirulina is quite bitter, which is why I only used a very small amount. Feel free to use whichever greens you have/prefer.

  • 1 handful raw, chopped kale
  • 1 handful baby spinach
  • 1/2 tsp coconut aminos
  • 1/2 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/16 tsp spirulina

Lightly steam the spinach and kale for about 1-2 min then remove. When ready to serve, sprinkle the remaining ingredients of top!

Thanks for checking out this WIAW and thanks of course to Jen at Peas and Crayons for hosting it!

27 thoughts on “wiaw # 8! raw cashew tomato dip for the win

  1. Oh yay, glad you liked the dates in your cashew cream! I love your idea of putting spirilina in with steamed greens (I’m a freak and LOVE the taste of spirilina!) I put it in mine and Misty’s tofu “puddings” – we call it monster goo… he loves the stuff too.

    • Ya I just loved it :)

      I’ve only just started experimenting with spirulina- I was so afraid of it for so long. But I actually really enjoy the taste of it! I’ll probably be adding it to everything I eat now just for kicks lol. Misty is so lucky to have you for a mom- he’s going to grow up with so many healthy habits and tastes!

  2. You have such a great mindset! I love the idea of focusing on what you CAN have! Such a great point and wonderful advice!

    Your food looks delicious as always. I’m intrigued by the raw cookie with cashew cream ;) The raw “meat” taco dish sounds really good and those sweet potato fries look perfect! A really perfect food day :) Congrats on having such a successful cleanse so far!

    • I’ve been having so many really good food days! I think this cleanse is going to lead to some permanent changes in my diet because I am just loving it :). The raw cookie was my second attempt at making cookies in the dehydrator. They were good but really dense, but definitely grew on me! I can definitely provide a recipe if you’re interested! They are a really good vehicle for loads of toppings.

      Thanks for your continuing support :)

  3. What a fantastic post! I love it. How did you make your ‘meat’ sauce? It looks amazing. I am rather afraid of Spirulina because I’ve never tried it, you mentioned it was bitter. Like brussel sprouts bitter?

    • Hey! For the meat sauce I basically jut puréed tomatoes and sundries tomatoes with carrots, red pepper, walnuts and spices! I can post a recipe if you are interested :)

      Spirulina scared me and I’ve only been using it for a couple days and I love it! It is quite bitter, sorta like brussel sprouts ya, but very concentrated. So I’ve just been sprinkling it here and there. I actually really like bitter tastes so it works! Try it out! So good for you!

  4. i’ve made a new blog—http://iambananahut.blogspot.com/ . but i wanna ask about where do you buy your kale and do you used protein powder in your breakfast smoothie?

    • I buy my kale at the grocery store. Not every one sells it, but I’ve found a couple where I live that reliably sell it. Shop a few different places- you could even try talking to the produce manager. I don’t always use protein powders, when I do I use the brand Vega Whole Food Health Optimizer. But the smoothie I made in this post doesn’t have any. I like to bulk up smoothies using chia seeds, nuts, hemp seeds and nut butters.

      Hope that helps :)

    • thank you :)

      I think I just love adventures- when I first went vegetarian I saw it as a challenge and I loved it! I still love challenges when it comes to food- it’s so fun for me! Especially when the challenge leads to delicious results :)

      Hope you are having a great week! xox

    • I think that’s one of the things that’s surprised me most- how satisfying this food is- I don’t feel like I am missing out! Now that I have a few basic recipes under my belt, I can’t wait to carry some of them out of this cleanse!

    • Hahah spirulina is my new experiment- I am adding it to everything! I love the colour and of course the nutrition! I mean I know it’s bitter, but why does that mean we have to mask it in smoothies? I wonder what else I can squeeze it into?

      And thank you :)

  5. The smoothie looks like a parfait! Amazing. I need to start drinking lemon water upon waking up, it’s so good for you

    • This smoothie is one of my favourites so far. I will have to post it soon!

      Lemon water is amazing first thing in the morning before you eat. I really feel it when I don’t have it (like a couple days ago when I got woken up to go into work lol). I find it makes digestion a lot smoother all day, not just in the morning!

  6. Wow, I think is the heartiest looking of your WIAWs! The cashew tomato dip sounds interesting, I’ve yet to use raw cashews. I love quinoa but never tried it sprouted. Does it have to be “raw” quinoa, or can I sprout the Bob’s Red Mill brand?

    • Definitely! The quinoa I used isn’t labelled raw or anything. Just the normal bulk stuff I buy at Costco!

      And yes it was a hearty day! The weather was so rainy and dreary, I was definitely craving comforting, filling foods.

*Comments make my day*

