starting fresh with raw strawberry banana buckwheat breakfast porridge

IMG_0563

Today is the official start day for my cleanse! If you missed my post where I outlined my plan, guidelines and goals, see this post for full details. I have spent the last few days easing into it and preparing and I have to say I am so excited to have started it. Prep included:

  • bookmarking a zillion recipes to try over the course of it
  • making a couple of said recipes- hello Strawberry Coconut Butter from Almost Vegan. Amazing!!

IMG_0549

  • making raw basics like almond milk, cashew cream and almond butter

IMG_0548

  • sprouting some quinoa

IMG_0545

  • reading through a ton of books for inspiration and guidance
  • organizing my pantry, hiding things I am eliminating and checking labels of things I’m not sure about

IMG_0551

brought out all my rooibos and herbal teas and hid the green, black, oolong and white!

  • cleaning up my bedroom and bathroom for clear, stress-free space
  • buying groceries including lots of fresh produce and a few other odds and ends like buckwheat groats, raw almonds, carob powder and sundried tomatoes
  • ordering a couple fun things online to experiment with (like Dandy Blend, Coconut Aminos, kelp noodles and my Excalibur 2400 Dehydrator!!!)
  • and developing a few new recipes (which I will post soon!)
    • sunflower seed “hummus”
    • my own version of kitchari

IMG_0536

    • raw “ketchup”
    • lemon-apricot-hemp power bars
    • strawberry banana buckwheat breakfast porridge (recipe below)

Today started out rather well! Deep breathing and 15 min of yoga to start the day, warm lemon water and raw buckwheat breakfast porridge. Did a quick 4 min tabata workout, followed by dry skin brushing and a shower and super simple raw lunch which I will post tomorrow. Snacks will include one of my lemon-apricot-hemp power bars and dinner will be some kitchari (with raw “ketchup” for fun, no one said I needed to be completely authentic!). What I have found today is that my planning has definitely paid off. I barely had to think about what I was doing- it all kind of came automatically which was really cool. I’m so glad I took the time now!

Today I will share with you my delicious breakfast and tomorrow, a super simple lunch idea that blew me away. I’m such a tease I know…..

IMG_0561

Raw Strawberry Banana Buckwheat Breakfast Porridge (Vegan. Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Raw)

Adapted from Oh She Glows’ Raw Buckwheat Porridge

Porridge Base

  • 1/4 cup raw buckwheat groats, soaked for at least 1 hour or overnight
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds (optional, omit additional 2 tbsp almond milk if not using)
  • 1/2 a small banana
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp almond milk (homemade for completely raw)
  • dash vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 drops vanilla stevia

Toppings (infinitely variable)

In today’s mix:

Rinse the buckwheat very well and place in a bowl with filtered water to soak. Rinse well again after soaking and place in a blender or food processor with the almond milk, chia seeds and hemp seeds if using. Allow to sit for a few minutes so the chia seeds gel a bit.  Then add the rest of the porridge ingredients and pulse until the banana is completely blended, but there is still some texture in the buckwheat.

Pour in a bowl and top with your favourite toppings! Enjoy!

Have a good Monday everyone!

I am submitting this recipes to: Allergy Free Wednesdays, Allergy Friendly Fridays, Allergy Friendly Lunchbox Love, Wellness Weekends and RecipeLion Blog Hop!

32 thoughts on “starting fresh with raw strawberry banana buckwheat breakfast porridge

  1. Pingback: Strawberry, Goji Berry, Cinnamon, Coconut, Raw Granola Buckwheat’ies | Gold Within

  2. My mom used to make buckwheat podirrge with milk. It is still one of my favorites! She would soak the grain over night, and then in the morning she would pour drained grains in a pot, add some milk and heat it up. We would then later add some sugar and sometimes butter (if it was available) for taste. Yummy! And it does smells so good when it’s cooking :)

  3. how original, I absolutely love raw buckwheat groats ground into a flour. As a prridge…I am so curious to try! I made the cocnutbutter too….but I made it with a Thia mango…oh my, so good! Look forward to trying this Gabby!

  4. That cleanse looks awesome! And that buckwheat porridge… yum! I can’t wait to make it.

    Thanks for nominating my blog for the Liebster award! : )

  5. Yummo… buckwheat and coconut butter are 2 of my favourites :) This cleanse will be a piece of (super healthy) cake for you will all the delicious food you have planned… look forward to reading all about it!

    • Aww thank you! I’m so new at photography, I just mess around until it looks good :) I must be messing with it right! This breakfast was so tasty- I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about the buckwheat but it was so good! I want to try a bunch of different add-ins now.

  6. Hi Gabby! I’ve been following your blog for awhile now and I LOVE it! Recipes are great and I’m always getting a lot of good ideas from you. I also made the strawberry coconut butter from Almost Vegan. It is so so good. You seem to be a lot better in the amount of coconut butter you are topping your breakfast porridge with! I pretty much went through the whole jar in a few days! :( Oops! :D

    • Haha except for a few minor withdrawals (sugar and caffeine headache lol) I’m actually really enjoying it! Giving me a reason to experiment and try tons of new things! The coconut butter is amazing! Tastes just like dessert by with no sugar :)

  7. Congrats on starting your cleanse! It seems like you are very well prepared and I bet cleaning out your pantry and starting over is a very “cleansing” process in itself! I’m really looking forward to seeing all of the meals you have planned and all of the progress that you make. You are inspiring me to start a raw cleanse myself. I may take the week to prepare myself for it and go for it next week :)

    The porridge recipe sounds so good! It seems like you are off to a great start!

    Have a great Monday Gabby!

    • Aww I’m glad I inspired you! Ya the planning I found has been key. I am definitely experiencing some withdrawal at the moment (oh caffeine…) but I know it’s worth it in the end! If you do a cleanse I will definitely be watching for ideas :)

*Comments make my day*

