spiced hazelnut milk

The weather here has taken a turn into chilliness. And I have to say I’m a little relieved! I mean we barely had a winter and then we had summer in March! Global warming you scare me…

Despite my mind’s relief in a return to slightly more normal weather patterns, the drop in temperature was not met with a warm welcome from my body. I have reverted back to the cold, shivering, 5 layer wearing, obsessive tea drinking self and have been trying to incorporate as many warming foods as possible! I am still on a making my own milk kick and I decided to create a milk that could be enjoyed cold, but still provide some warming! And this is how spiced hazelnut milk was born.

Now I know I only recently posted a milk recipe so I am posting this recipe at the risk of seeming repetitive, unoriginal an uncreative. But really, I go through so much milk, especially when it’s homemade (so much better than store-bought!), you really can’t have too many of these recipes ;)

Now why spiced hazelnut milk?

Hazelnuts are a naturally sweet nut creating a rich nut milk that requires very little sweetening and makes it perfect for use in a variety of dessert and breakfast foods. Even drinking a glass of the milk alone can curb a sweet craving.

And they are also an awesomely healthy way to get some sweetness in your life:

  • phytochemicals: many of the phytochemicals in hazelnuts belong to the flavenoid group with can help improve brain health
  • rich in folate which is very important for energy metabolism, preventing neural tube defects in developing babies and reduces the risk for many cardiovascular diseases including stroke and cancers
  • rich in important minerals like calcium, potassium and magnesium
  • loaded with healthy fats (monounsaturated and polyunsaturated) that can help lower bad cholesterol levels and raise good cholesterol levels, have rebound benefits to cardiovascular health!

Cinnamon also has loads of health benefits associated with it that I could talk on and on about, but as relates to this post, it has been used for hundreds of years to help generate warmth in the body! Plus it tastes pretty darn good.

This milk has a wonderful flavour coming from the hazelnuts that is complimented well by the warmth of the cinnamon and nutmeg. Any hazelnut fans out there, this milk is for you!

IMG_3881

Spiced Hazelnut Milk (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free, Raw)

IMG_3877

  • 1 cup raw hazelnuts (soaked overnight and rinse well)
  • 3 1/4 cups filtered water
  • 2 dates (soaked and pitted)
  • 1/4 cup date soaking liquid- the liquid you soaked the above dates in, if that wasn’t obvious ;)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Blend hazelnuts, water and date liquid for 1 minute, then add the dates and blend again until well incorporated. Strain the mixture through a nut milk bag, cheesecloth, or fine mesh strainer, squeezing all the goodness out of the pulp. Set the pulp aside and save for another use. Next post will have a recipe for the pulp, and it’s a good one :)

Add the milk back to the blender and add the cinnamon and nutmeg. Pulse a couple times to incorporate. Store in a jar, refrigerated for up to a week, if it lasts that long!

I do recommend shaking this before each use as the spices do sink to the bottom after it sits for awhile.

This was a really nice milk to have with oats, to blend in smoothies, especially chocolate and nut flavoured ones, in cereal, or just drank straight from the glass. Add some cacao or cocoa powder and some stevia to it, and you have a milk that tastes eerily like nutella. Pretty much amazing!

IMG_3903

here I enjoyed it with some blueberries and millet-rice cereal as a late nigh snack. food doesn’t need to be hot to be warming!

Keeping cozy has never tasted so good. Ok cold weather, my body officially welcomes you as warmly as my mind.

16 thoughts on “spiced hazelnut milk

    • Haha well I feel silly I thought you were asking about he cinnamon rolls with you question before lol. Duh, that’s what happens when trying to use you phone to answer comments! I’m glad you got it to work! Blenders and food processors can be so finicky at times eh?

  1. Good morning! I prepped the nuts and dates yesterday and just now I went to blend them and the blender blades wouldn’t turn (sounded gunked up with nuts) so I transferred it all to the food processor and water came out onto the countertop. Can I process the nuts with half the water, then into the blender with all the water?

    • I thought making your own milk would be finicky so I never tried it for ages. Now I’m obsessed, it’s so easy! Plus you aren’t limited to the original, chocolate and vanilla variations. Let me know if you try it!

  2. Yum….how can you worry about being repetitive with THIS?! This looks and sounds wonderful (and quite original!)…so love the idea of the warming spices for this weird weather! xo :) More rain here today and in the forecast for the foreseeable future too..I’m soaking nuts now!

    • You are so sweet Shira! This is definitely a milk I’ll be making loads in the winter. I am hoping we can just speed through this last patch of cold weather and move onto spring!

      Yay for soaking nuts :) I feel like there is always something soaking in my kitchen…

*Comments make my day*

