wiaw #3- digestive woes

Well it’s that time of the week again :). I’m really coming to love this weekly tradition. I love seeing what other bloggers eat on a daily basis. Gives so many ideas for more simple eats rather than recipes which is definitely helpful, especially for days I’m working.

Just a note, please excuse some of the pictures- I was playing around with a camera app on my iPod so they are not the clearest…but hey, I had fun. This was also what I ate on Tuesday, not today, obviously!

Pre-breakfast (4:45 am…oh boy)

Before breakfast I started my morning like I always do with some warm water with lemon and some Vega One powder mixed in water. I’m really liking mixing the Vega with water sometimes rather than incorporating it in my smoothies. It allows for more control over the final flavour of the smoothie.

IMG_3812

recycled photo from last week but all lemon water looks the same!

After this I did some yoga à la Jillian Michaels. I really love her workout videos and while her Yoga Meltdown workouts aren’t your standard centering and peaceful yoga practices, they definitely give a good workout!

Breakfast (5:45 am)

IMG_0101

Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie and Tessa’s Sweet Brown Oatmeal Bread with raspberry jam.

In the smoothie mix was a few collard leaves, a frozen banana, frozen raspberries, some maca hemp milk, cacao powder, chia seeds and cinnamon. Very tasty but I didn’t make notes of measurements, so no recipe.

The bread is a recipe by Tessa over at her blog Tessa the Domestic Diva. I made a few changes- subbed millet flour for the teff, used coconut oil, 4 tbsp coconut sugar, 4 drops stevia, 1 tsp of cinnamon and had to bake for 55 min.  It turned out so tasty! It wasn’t super sweet, was very wholesome and is really nice spread with jam, almond butter or Earth Balance.

The combo of a smoothie plus the bread kept me full for hours! I think I will start incorporating a bit more carbs in my breakfast, especially when breakfast is a smoothie because it really worked for me.

Snack # 1 (8:30 am)

I wasn’t really hungry but figured I should have something since my lunch wasn’t likely to be for another couple hours at least. I didn’t snap a picture (oops) but I had some strawberries, blueberries and raspberries which was nice and light. I also had a half-sweet soy iced chai latte. Not something I would regularly drink (refined sugar and soy doesn’t sit well with me) but it just sounded so refreshing I couldn’t help myself. I would come to regret this decision later…

6d74db346ecf48fbb7289b35ddd0fc10

not my pic, got off the website :). Very convenient to have since I was quite forgetful today

Lunch (11:30 am)

Lunch was some leftover quinoa tabbouleh my mom made on the weekend and some green tea

She got the recipe from Michael Smith’s cookbook and it was really nice and refreshing. Any other Canadians out there like Michael Smith? We certainly do in my house :). He came to my university a couple years ago and my roommate and I got a picture with him that landed in the paper. It was very exciting for us (we are food nerds).

About an hour after lunch is when my digestive troubles started- I got really bloated (lovely right?) and my stomach was noticeably sticking out :(. I’ve mentioned that I have digestive issues especially with certain foods, but haven’t really gotten into much detail on it here on this blog. After looking at what I ate earlier on in the day (thanks WIAW!), I really can’t identify anything that would have been the problem except that iced chai latte. That will teach me to surrender to a moment of weakness!

Snack #2 (3:45 pm)

IMG_0103

Chocolate chia pudding from the pure2raw twins

Now I have never met a chia pudding I liked. I have made many different kinds using recipes that people have raved over and never liked them. Today, I was trying to get something in me that would be nutritious since I wasn’t sure how my stomach was going to be the rest of the night. I just received some Vega Chocolate Powder in the mail today (yay for sales!) so when I saw this recipe on FitFluential I figured it was meant to be and decided to try it. I made half of the recipe since I didn’t want anything big. I hate to say this, but I didn’t love it. I just don’t think me and chia puddings are ever going to get along, so please don’t let this deter you from trying it! I ended up stirring in a little agave and topped it with some chopped dark chocolate to make it a little more palatable for me.

Dinner (6 pm)

IMG_0104

First part was a very simple miso soup. 1 cup water, 1 tbsp miso paste mixed with 2 tbsp hot water, 1 tbsp chopped ginger, all put in a saucepan and simmered for a few minutes. I just wanted something to soothe my stomach and ease digestion for the next part of the meal! As a fermented food, miso is known to help ease digestion of other foods and ginger has soothing properties.

IMG_3990

This was an “Easy on the Tummy” bowl. I’m going to post a recipe for it tomorrow since I found it to be great for an upset stomach. My goal with it was to use foods that would both provide nutrition and either soothe or not bother an upset stomach. Mission accomplished and I will post it soon!

This dinner was exactly what my stomach needed. While it still wasn’t 100%, it was definitely not worse. When my stomach is acting up there’s not much to do except wait and let it do it’s thing. But I try to treat it as lovingly as possible through non-aggravating foods and good old stomach massages.

And that was my day! Bedtime was quite early (8:30 since I had to work at 5:30 the next day). I had a small handful of almonds around 8 since I was hungry. I didn’t take a picture, but you all know what almonds look like right? ;)

Be sure to check back tomorrow for that recipe!

16 thoughts on “wiaw #3- digestive woes

  1. Hey Gabby! Sorry to hear about the discomfort..a few years ago I tried a Vega product that was meant for smoothies (it was the Smoothie infusion with a yellow pea meal in it!) and it made me terribly cramped and gassy – I doubt that it is the cause for you since you use it regularly (and I don’t know if it is even the same thing!!) but I totally couldn’t tolerate it. Glad you feel better! ;)

    • Hello dear! When I went to see Brendan talk, he actually addressed the issue with yellow pea protein since a lot people can have difficulty with digesting it. Since I know legumes can be a tricky spot for me in general I gradually eased into the amount of Vega I used as per his suggestion and I still only use max 1/2 scoop to avoid issue… I wonder if maybe I used more than usual without noticing? Could have been a factor for sure, one I hadn’t thought of! Thanks for pointing it out!

      • No problem..I’m hesitant to point out a specific product (and really admire Brendan greatly) – I’ll just never forget that – it was terribly uncomfortable and I so wanted it to be good (especially since I had bought it and couldn’t use it!). ;) xo

  2. I really need to try making a miso soup. I bought some a while back for another recipe, but only used a little, so it sits sad and lonely in my fridge :( Good to know it can be used for tummy troubles.
    I loooove Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown! Have you tried her Ripped in 30 dvd? That’s probably my favorite dvd of hers so far, but you really can’t go wrong with any of them; you will get an awesome workout no matter what!

    • I’ve never tried that one but I actually have it- I just ordered a bunch of her DVDs. I’ve tried a couple of them and loved them so I figured it was time to purchase them myself :) I will have to try it! I’ve done her 30 Day Shred, Yoga Meltdown and the Extreme Shed and Shred, love all of them so can’t imagine why I wouldn’t like it!

      And definitely give miso soup a try, it’s so easy and quick!

  3. your meals look so tasty! homemade bread is such a treat! i made a breakfast bake this morning since i had more time for once and it felt so good to have something fresh and homemade right out of the oven!

*Comments make my day*

