superfoods: hemp and maca

Happy Sunday! I hope you are all not feeling toooo many negative effects from various celebrations and shenanigans last night. But if you are don’t worry, I’ve got you covered. Today I have 2 nutritious recipes for you that utilize some awesome superfoods that are good for recovery and reducing stress on your body :)

I’ve talked about how awesome hemp seeds are before- they are an amazing source of nutrients, easily digestible protein and omega-3’s and help to alkalize your body. It’s natural digestive enzymes remain intact allowing your body to use it with great efficiency, reducing stress on your body, maximizing the nutritional benefit.  But did you also know that they are one of the most easily sustainable crops that can be used to manufacture many of the products we use everyday like clothing, medicine and car parts!

This is a great music video that shows just how amazing the plant really is!

I can personally testify to just how delicious and versatile hemp seeds are. They are fabulous sprinkled on salads, blended into smoothies and for making nutritious sweet treats like these hemp seed fudge bites!

Read this article here for more info on the current debate on hemp food in the U.S. (http://www.naturalnews.com/035244_hemp_save_the_world_music_video.html)  It’s a really informative article and it really goes to show just how complex instituting positive changes for our health and the environment can really be!

So I was motivated to utilize hemp in yet another way! This was when I got a delivery in the mail….

It finally came! The maca powder I ordered! I had been waiting for it for ages (serves me right for ordering it from the States…probably got held at the border for ages) but then once I got it, I had NO idea what to do with it. I had seen it used so many times on so many blogs in so many recipes but my brain just wouldn’t work. I googled recipes but couldn’t get inspired.

So it sat on my counter for 5 days without being touched…poor maca…it must have been terribly lonely.

But fear not! I eventually had a burst of brilliance and made some maca hemp seed milk. A delicious combination of 2 amazing superfoods.

First, a bit about maca and why I was so determined to get my hands on, and use it. Maca root comes from the Andean regions in Bolivia and Peru. As a result of it’s growing at such high altitutes in nutrient poor soils, it is has developed extraordinary defense systems, resulting in loads of nutritional goodness for us! It is best known for it’s ability to nourish the endocrine system: aka helps with your hormones! It’s particularly adept at combating stress (physical, emotional, nutritional, etc), increasing stamina, and combating fatigue. It does this by lowering cortisol levels and providing nourishment (therefore more energy without being stimulated by something like caffeine!). It’s a known adaptogen too which means it increases our body’s ability to fight off illness, without being toxic to the recipient. It’s got loads of vitamins and essential minerals and fatty acids as well!

You do need to take it for a while before it’s effects start to be seen- it needs to build up in your body. You should also take breaks from it every once in a while for a about a week at a time to ensure your body remains responsive to the maca.

It has a mild butterscotchy, nutty and, almost malty flavour to it. This makes it perfect to add to loads of sweet applications like desserts and beverages.

And now for a couple of recipes! They are both very alkalizing :)

Maca Hemp Seed Milk (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free, Raw)

Makes about 3 1/2 cups

  • 1/4 cup shelled hemp seeds (soaked for at least 4 hours or overnight)
  • 3 1/2 cups filtered water
  • 3 medjool dates (soaked at least 4 hours or overnight and pits removed)
  • dash of vanilla extract or vanilla bean powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp maca powder (will probably increase this next time around. I want to give my body time to adapt to the maca for now)

Put everything in a blender and blend for a few minutes! Store in the fridge for up to a week.

You can either strain the mixture through a nut milk bag or leave it as is for a thicker milk. I opted to leave it unstrained. That way you keep all that goodness in! If you do opt to strain it, probably put everything but the maca in, blend, strain, then add everything back in with the maca. That way all the maca stays in your milk.

And now for a recipe you can use this milk in! This was a nice change from a smoothie. While I love the way drinking a green smoothie makes me feel in the morning, sometimes I do miss having a warm, comforting bowl of cereal. This is loaded with goodness with the hemp and the maca from the milk, lots of protein from the buckwheat (in particular it is high in the amino acid tryptophan- the feel good amino acid!), the good fats and calcium in the tahini, loads of vitamins, omega-3s and protein in the chia seeds and minerals and quick digesting carbs in the banana. Buckwheat is also slightly alkaline forming compared to gluten-containing grains so bonus! A very solid beginning to the day!

Raw Banana Tahini Buckwheat Porridge with Maca Hemp Seed Milk (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free, Raw)

  • 1/4 cup raw buckwheat groats, soaked overnight
  • 1/2 cup maca hemp seed milk
  • 1 medjool date, soaked and pit removed, chopped small
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1/2 of a large banana, sliced
  • generous sprinkle of cinnamon

Put the soaked buckwheat, hemp milk and date in a small pan and heat very slowly over low heat. You don’t want this to go above 115ºF for it to be strictly raw. Feel free to heat it up a bit more if you want, but don’t let it boil up! We want to retain all the nutrients in the hemp :).

* You don’t even need to heat it up if you don’t want. I just like how this helps it get thicker

When the mixture has thickened a bit and has been heated to the temperature you want, take it off the heat and add in the chia seeds. Mix it up and let it sit for a couple minutes. This will help it get reeaaalllly thick!

Top with the tahini, banana slices and cinnamon. Munch away!

Hope you all enjoy the rest of your weekend! Make sure you give your body some solid recovery fuel so you can start the next week fresh :)

13 thoughts on “superfoods: hemp and maca

  1. YES! finally somebody actually says what maca tastes like haha! I’ve been wanting to try it out for awhile but I didnt know if it had an actual taste or if it was more of a supplement. I need to get my hands on some of dat as soon as possssible.

    • Thanks Katie! I only recently started making my own milk and I’m definitely on a kick…I drink so much more now because of it lol. Let me know how yours goes! I have never tried macadamia nuts, but I bet they would make for a really creamy, silky milk :)

  2. Awesome Gabby – 2 amazing foods and some equally amazing creativity too! :) I have used Maca now on and off for a few years (started to help with hormonal stuff) – for anyone looking to try it I definitely recommend it! It has other side effects too that I won’t mention straight up, but let’s say they aren’t too bad either :) Your milk looks wonderful and so does the cereal!

*Comments make my day*

