kale avocado pesto

Two of my favourite foods combined into one seriously good sauce/spread. I mean seriously, how could kale + avocado not be good?

Shira over at in pursuit of more made a Kale Pesto that looked to die for and I knew I had to try something like it. Using kale in pesto is such a sneaky (and delicious) way to get some greens in.

I decided to mix it up a bit by using avocado for the fat instead of the traditional oil. I mean I definitely enjoy using oil in my diet in the form of dressing and to lightly stir-fry food, but using the whole food, as in the avocado in this case, is definitely awesome from a nutritional perspective- no refining going on here!

This pesto recipe is incredibly rich tasting. The avocado gives it a crazy creaminess, the nutritional yeast gives it some cheesiness (haha rhyming) and the lemon juice and pepper give it a bit of a kick. I chose to use walnuts and pecans for the nuts. Walnuts are great for omega 3-s and the pecans impart a suble sweetness to the pesto which I loved. But you could use only one for those (1 cup of each) and it would still taste great!

The kale is completely transformed from a bitter green. This recipe makes a lot, so you will probably have leftovers. Would be good on just about anything! Cooked or raw veggies, a grain or pasta, even spread on toast!

Kale Avocado Pesto (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free)

  • 2 1/2 cups kale
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (feel free to use 2 cloves garlic here- my digestive system is not a fan of garlic cloves so I tend to not use them)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • LOTS of fresh ground pepper

Put everything in a blender/food processor and blend until smooth, scraping the sides as needed. I put my kale in first and pulsed a few times till it was chopped small then added everything else in, which worked well! Don’t worry if you can’t get all the chunks of nuts- just call it rustic pesto and everyone will think you meant it to be that way ;)

I’ve enjoyed it lots of ways over the last few days. Most notably:

Over spaghetti squash with steamed broccoli

Over brown rice pasta with sautéed mushrooms and zucchini.

Both times topped with extra fresh ground pepper and nutritional yeast.

Now I’m off to enjoy the rest of my day! Best part about working early? Finishing before lunch :) Hello free afternoon and evening!

9 thoughts on “kale avocado pesto

  1. Pingback: sláinte! | the veggie nook

  2. Pingback: wiaw- avocado mango bruschetta and a mint chocolate chip smoothie | the veggie nook

*Comments make my day*

