two healthy oatmeal cookie recipes

(recipe #1 on the right, recipe #2 on the left)

I have spent more time in the kitchen in the last couple of days than I have in a long time and it was so fun to roll up my sleeves and do some good ol’ recipe testing! One thing this reminded me harsly of though- while cooking and baking is fun, cleaning up IS NOT. If I have to do one more dish I will lose it!

BUT all that cleaning has paid off because I have lots of delicious things to share with you! The first is 2 recipes for oatmeal cookies. But not your standard oatmeal cookies.

These cookies are a conglomeration of loads of different recipes I’ve seen over the past few months. And once I made one, I was completely inspired to make the next.  I created the first recipe based on an idea for oatmeal date cookies over at One Arab Vegan. I just love the addition of dates in oatmeal, so put that in a portable cookie form and I’m sold!

I also saw a few recipes for tahini in cookies floating around and decided to combine the 2 ideas! I thought it would help lend a richness to the cookies without making them sweet and also add to the earthiness of he dates! Enter: Oatmeal-Tahini-Date Cookies.

I made them and they were delicious.

Then I remembered when I made the Tahini Lime Cookies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar years ago when I was only just experimenting with vegan cooking. It was way before I cut out dairy and eggs, but they always stuck with me. They were some of the most unique cookies I had ever eaten. Not too sweet and fresh.

I knew I just needed to make up a version of right then and there. But I was really enjoying the rustic-ness (like my new word??) of the oatmeal cookies I had just made and loved the ingredients so I decided to use that as a base and make some Oatmeal Tahini Lime Cookies with Coconut!

These are both healthy as well! Lots of fiber and healthy fats from the oats and the almonds :). They are pretty filling so 2 of these and you’re good to go! They also have no ADDED fats (and not I’m not saying they are low fat- the almonds, tahini an coconut definitely contribute some, but there is no added oil)! So if anyone is watching their consumption of oil, these are a good option! But don’t worry, you would never know these are healthy, I promise!

They are both soft, chewy cookies since they don’t have any added oil. If you are looking for a crispier cookie, you might try subbing some or all of the applesauce for coconut oil (or any oil of your choice). I haven’t tried this so can’t vouch for it, but if anyone tries it do let me know!

Oatmeal-Tahini-Date Cookies  (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free)

These cookies have a wonderful earthiness that comes from the dates and have a really wholesome, comforting feel to them from the oats and the cinnamon. They aren’t too sweet, but you get little pops of rich sweetness from the dates. This is a cookie to enjoy with a mug of tea under a blanket :)

Makes 20 large cookies

  • 2 tbsp flax meal mixed with 5 tbsp water (helps to bind the cookies!)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 1/3 cup agave (or maple syrup)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup oats ground to a flour (or 1 cup oat flour, keep 1 tbsp separate)
  • 1 cup almonds, ground to a flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates

First grind up your almonds and your nuts and get all your ingredients ready. Then preheat your oven to 350ºF and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix the flax seed with the water and set aside for a few minutes to gel. Mix the wet ingredients in a small bowl and add in the flax mixture.

In a larger bowl mix together the rest of the ingredients except for the dates and 1 tbsp oat flour. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until combined. Toss the dates in 1 tbsp oat flour to help them not stick together so they get more evenly distributed in the batter, and then fold into the batter.

I then chilled my batter for a few minuted in the fridge since it looked a little soft and I didn’t want to cookies to spread too much. Then I spooned out HEAPING tablespoons of batter onto the baking sheet. Leave a little room in between the cookies because the batter will spread a little.

Bake for 13-16 min (I did 14) and allow to cool on tne baking sheet for 5 min before tranferring to a rack to finishing cooling.

Oatmeal-Tahini-Lime Cookies with Coconut (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined Sugar-Free)

These cookies are really fresh and bright tasting with the addition of the lime and when you combine that with the coconut they almost have a tropical feel. But there is still the rustic element from the oatmeal that reigns them in so they are not too crazy- they still have a homey feel to them :).

*I’ll highlight where these differ from the ones above in bold

Makes 20 large cookies

  • 2 tbsp flax meal mixed with 5 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 1/3 cup agave (I highly recommend sticking with the agave on this one)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • zest of 2 limes
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup oats ground to a flour (don’t worry about keeping any separate)
  • 1 cup almonds, ground to a flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala (this really helps bring an interesting flavour and makes the lime and coconut shine!)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
So basically follow the same directions as above, just add in the lime zest to your wet ingredients and fold in the coconut once you have combined the wet and dry. I baked these ones a little longer than the others- 16 min. Helped the coconut get nice and toasty!

leaning tower of cookies!

uh oh….

 

Lesson: don’t rush your cookies into a photo shoot.  They will crumble under the pressure. Let them gain their composure (aka: cool completely) first.

No matter which way you stack them, they are both delicious, satifsying, healthy treats!

I am submitting these to Wellness Weekends, Allergy-Friendly Lunchbox Love and Allergy-Free Wednesdays!

17 thoughts on “two healthy oatmeal cookie recipes

  1. LOL, I love your cookie captions! I would really like to try that garam masala cookie…maybe I’ll do half of that recipe then less sugar/agave in another half so I can serve with chicken tikka for dinner (you think that would taste okay?)

    • Haha thanks I was really having fun with them that day :) I am naturally a messy, accident prone person and I though it had to be shared

      That’s a really interesting idea! I think that could be so good! You HAVE to let me know what that’s like. I don’t buy bread a whole lot so that would open up a world of options for me and my curries :)

      • Okay, I gotta remember to make some masala cookies next time I make chicken tikka. I usually make a really good naan, but I’m trying to cut back on flour. :(

  2. Pingback: healthy vegan friday #1 (!!!) | the veggie nook

  3. I would like to try this recipe after devouring your hemp-lemon balls. I have a nut allergy, what could you suggest to replace the almonds? More oat flour? Another flour such as Teff or Amaranth?

    • I haven’t tried to sub any other flours, but I don’t think you’d have a problem with additional oat flour or teff (I haven’t used amaranth so not sure of the taste). I think 1 cup of almonds yields about 1 1/4 cup when ground so make sure you adjust for that! Also, keep in mind that teff flour absorbs a lot of water so you’ll want to use a little less of that than you would oat. I hope that helps!

      I’m glad you like the lemon coconut hemp seed bites :)

    • The teff worked wonderfully but next time I will add more moisture or less teff. The cookies were a bit dry. They disappeared in a day so it didn’t affect the taste.

  4. Pingback: wiaw- avocado mango bruschetta and a mint chocolate chip smoothie | the veggie nook

  5. Yum! I’ve never thought about including some of these ingredients in cookies, like tahini and garam marsals, but why not? They sound delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe at last week’s Allergy-Free Wednesdays. We hope to see you back again this week.
    ~Michelle, AFW Hostess

*Comments make my day*

