wiaw- my first!

Cataloging my daily eats has never been something I’ve done. While I, of course, will take pictures of what I eat, it’s usually because I have something very specific I want to share about it.

A number of the blogs I’ve followed (and loved!) over the years have don’e WIAW, but I had never really checked out the originator before! I decided to pop over to Peas and Crayons  and looked at the WIAW page. And the description she gives of WIAW seemed so positive and productive (which I had never considered before) I decided to try my hand at it!

“WIAW is about food and fun! It’s about making new friends, breaking out of a food rut, noting changes in your diet/lifestyle, inspiring yourself & others, embracing fruit & vegetables, nourishing your body with the foods that work for you, finding new ways to eat your favorite foods, and so much more <3″

Isn’t that just lovely?

I really like the ideas of exploring what works for you and motivating me to create new and interesting things to share! Because I definitely can fall into the trap of making the same thing all the time. I think the concept of non-judgement present in this statement is really important too- we shouldn’t compare how we eat to someone else or try to emulate someone else exactly. How I eat works for me, but might not work for you.

So here we go! My very first What I Ate Wednesday! I don’t think I’ll struggle with the green theme, not even a little lol

Breakfast (5:15 am)

I was feeling fancy this morning :)  

Can we just take a second to marvel at my ability to feel fancy at 5 am??

Started off with a smoothie as per usual today. It was weird though because my smoothie turned out green even though I didn’t put any greens in it! I suspect my Vega One is the culprit…Anyway, this one was a “peaches and cream” smoothie with 2/3 a banana, frozen, a cup of frozen peach slices, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup coconut water, 1 scoop Vega One and a few drops of my new Vanilla Cream Stevia :)

Smoothies are an awesome way to get in loads of fruits and veg early on in your day. While I didn`t add any veg to my smoothie this time around, there was definitely some green nutrition in the Vega.

Snack (8:30)

I forgot to pack snacks for work (fanciness distracted me I guess…). So I grabbed this, because it seemed like a quick and easy way to get in some nutrition. It has almost 3 apples, 1/2 a banana, 1/3 of a kiwi, 1/3 of a mango and a green boost mix that includes spirulina, chlorella, broccoli, spinach, blue green algae, garlic, barley grass, wheatgrass, ginger and parsley. Whoa, that was a mouthful. Also had a few unpictured grapes I got from a girl at work.

Lunch (11:30)

This looks kinda gross and I apologize for that lol. Pictured is what was left after I was full…I had received a Quiznos gift card from my store manager for being mentioned positively in a customer survey so I decided to make use of it and bought myself lunch! Got a Veggie Light sandwich with no cheese on whole wheat. Also put some edamame/hummus spread I got from Costco on the weekend on it for some staying power. With some coconut water from work. I ended up finishing the sandwich when I got home around 1.

By the way- I hate that in a lot of fast food places, the vegetarian option is the “light” option. We vegetarians/vegans want something filling too! And how about something with no cheese? Maybe start carrying some hummus??

Besides this it was actually pretty delicious. The iceberg lettuce was blah but the mushrooms and olives were nice! Plus free food is always pretty awesome.

“Snack”

this is a bit of a teaser photo…recipe to come! But I was taking photos for when I post it and had to take a bite to get a shot of the inside…I live a hard life I know…

3:30

Green tea :). I love this Kirkland green tea. I get it at Costco so you get 100 tea bags and it’s sencha AND matcha tea which is awesome. Matcha is fine powder Japanese green tea that is very high quality and grown under very specific conditions. It’s super good for you- has been found to have 137x more of the antioxidant EGCG than traditional green teas! I really like the taste of matcha, I used to whisk it in some hot water and drink it every morning. But it’s expensive (and I don’t have my discount from Palais des Thés anymore :( ), so this is a really nice option to have it a little more modestly priced. Plus matcha is quite bitter tasting so this tea also a good option for those who don’t really like matcha.

the matcha gives it a gorgeous green colour don’t you think?

 Also, this is my new cup from work. It’s double walled so even though the tea in the cup is hot, the outside feels barely warm. It’s pretty strange feeling but I love the way it shows off my tea!

Snack (4:45)

A not-so-fancy smoothie. This one was just for some quick fuel before a yoga class…a standard one of 2/3 a banana, lots of spinach, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds and 1/2 tbsp raw almond butter.

Dinner (7:30)

This was a pretty typical dinner for me, especially after a yoga class when I just want something quick and easy. Leftover quinoa with lightly steamed broccoli, green beans and kale, with raw yellow bell pepper and 1/4 of an avocado. Made a sauce with tahini, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, sambal olek and some hot water to thin it out. Topped with some hemp seeds, nutritional yeast, pepper and some of my fave kelp seasoning.

YUM!

Snack (9:30)

Ended the day with some fruit with cashew cream and rooibos tea with lavender and coconut.

Holy, I didn’t realize how much green stuff I actually eat in a day. That is awesome.

Work today, then 2 days off! Happy Wednesday!

12 thoughts on “wiaw- my first!

  1. Pingback: wiaw- avocado mango bruschetta and a mint chocolate chip smoothie | the veggie nook

  2. Pingback: spring forward with a quickie recipe: healthified Starbucks green tea lemonade | the veggie nook

    • Jasmine tea is lovely as well :) I actually just ordered some from David’s tea…I have a bit of a tea obsession lol. But yes do try it! They are very portable too since they come in individual packets.

      And thank you! I actually had so much fun writing that post so I already can’t wait till next Wednesday.

  3. Green and gorgeous girl! Loved reading your WIAW! I’ve tried that green naked juice before and LOVED IT! Though I haven’t dried matcha before! You have me wanting to — esp as part of my green goal/challenge to myself!

    I’m glad you stopped by and gave me a chance! And that you joined the festivities too! Hope you had fun and that you meet a few new bloggers in the process <3

    xoxo
    jenn

    • Thanks so much :) Yes definitely try matcha! It would definitely help you up the green tea content, you are getting TONS of antioxidants in one go instead of spreading them out a bit more! It takes a little getting used to, but if you like green tea you can definitely learn to like it. Also maybe try a green tea latte instead of a normal one. They just use matcha instead of espresso, and a little sweetener depending on the coffee shop.

      I’m so glad I participated and can’t wait to do it for many weeks to come :)

  4. Totally fun to “see” what one eats throughout the day – kind of enlightening, no? I just started drinking a green tea/matcha blend (cuz straight up matcha was too $$) and I love it. Can’t wait to see that teaser recipe!

*Comments make my day*

