energizing green smoothie

Good morning!

Yesterday I went on a major shopping excursion and got loads of goodies! I went to the local health food store and picked up some coconut water, which I have been wanting to buy for ages (but it’s so expensive!), hemp oil and frozen mango chunks.

Then I went to Value Village and stocked up on loads of dishes. I think I picked up some really cool stuff that I’m so excited to photograph on here! I got a plate, a bowl, a smaller bowl, a serving dish, 2 glasses and 2 jars for only $10! Don’t worry, when I got home they were promptly washed and sanitized (the state of the dish section at that store is a little disturbing). I also fished out loads of my own dishes that have been packed away since I moved back home :).

I also went to Metro and bought the MOST MASSIVE AVOCADO I have ever seen! It’s from the Dominican Republic…what is in the soil there?

pictured next to a spaghetti squash for reference

I swear the pit was the size of a tennis ball!

Anyway, I was so excited to put these purchases to good use immediately! So of course I opted for a green smoothie. This one was so tasty! I was super excited about this because this was the first time I put kale in a green smoothie. Until this point I had only ever used spinach. I only put 2 leaves in (I’m a wimp) but didn’t even notice it, so I’ll definitely ramp it up next time!

It was really energizing too. Lots of healthy fats from the hemp oil and avocado, the spinach and the kale adding loads of good micronutrients, coconut water adding loads of electrolytes and the Vega One adding everything else you could possibly want! I seriously felt like I had had a cup of coffee after drinking it :)

Energizing Green Smoothie (Vegan, Raw, Gluten-Free, Sugar Free)

  • 2/3 of a large banana, frozen
  • 1 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1/4 of that massive avocado (or 1/2 of a normal one)
  • 2 leaves of kale, removed from stem
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 tbsp hemp oil
  • 1/2 scoop Vega One

Put it all in a blender, and have at ‘er!

I will say, one thing that I have found really helpful in blending green smoothies is the order in which you add the heavier things (like the frozen fruit) and the lighter things (the greens). The order I add them depends on whether I’m using a normal blender (where you puts things in the top) or my Magic Bullet (where you end up putting everything in, putting on the blade/lid then flipping it over to blend), but you always want it so that the heavier items like the frozen fruit end up on top of the greens. Like so:

not the smoothie I made today, but you can imagine that when I put the lid on my Magic Bullet and put it in the base (requiring me to flip it) the forzen fruit (in with all the milk) would be on top of the spinach)

This helps press the spinach down so it blends easily instead of it sticking to the sides!

I love this cup :) Perfect for smoothie photography!

I got loooaaads of other goodies too (Chapters and Bulk Barn), but you’ll hear about those ones soon enough.

Enjoy your Sunday everyone! Hope you feel as energized as I do :)

I am submitting this to Allergy Free Wednesdays!

14 thoughts on “energizing green smoothie

  1. MMMM, isnt it amazing how green smoothies taste so good! This recipe looks awesome!! That is one hefty avacado! Thats how they grow on the Big Island too! The could be mistaken for a melon they are so big! Thanks for sharing! I am going to try this asap!

  2. Yes we really all enjoyed the pesto. I want to try a smoothy this week. What is vega 1 assume it’s some kind of protein powder, so I could leave it out. Your smoothy looks so nice and thick. I like that you combine spinach and kale.

    • Ya Vega One is this protein, meal replacement powder by Brendan Brazier. He wrote the Thrive Diet books. It’s basically a protein powder loaded with vitamins, minerals and superfoods :) If you ever see it try it, it’s awesome,

  3. I love this green smoothie recipe–it looks so refreshing! You added so many fabulous superfoods to it as well. Thank you so much for sharing your great recipe on Allergy-Free Wednesdays! Be sure to check back next week for recipe highlights (including the top 3 reader choice submissions and hostess favorites).

    Be Well!

  4. Pingback: sláinte! | the veggie nook

    • Thank you!

      I have been following your blog for ages! One of the first I found when I decided to try and become a more “healthy vegan”. You are awesome :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

*Comments make my day*

