chilling out

Hello all!

I hope you all had a great Monday. I had a customer come in today and in response to my, “How are you doing today?” he responded with, “Awesome! I don’t know what everyone is on about, I love Mondays.” It was so refreshing to hear someone respond differently than the usual “Fine”.  I loved that outlook, after all, even though Monday is the start of a long work week for many people, it is also an opportunity for a fresh start. A new week full of opportunities!

My week started with an early day at work, but not before I had a smoothie with some of my new Vega One mixture. Pretty similar mix to yesterday- a frozen banana, big handful of spinach, almond milk, Vega One, raw almond butter. Didn’t snap a pic, wayyy too early to even contemplate taking out my camera. Once again felt hugely energized and ready to start my day. Actually tided me over for quite a while at work and was barely even hungry by the time my first break came around 9 am (yes that’s how early I work, to need a break at 9 lol).

After work I came home and did a strength workout and was instantly craving a smoothie! I’ve never been a real smoothie person because I’m one of those people who almost always feels cold. I generally get a long better with a mug of hot tea or oatmeal, so this smoothie-craving was surprising to me, but I just decided to go with it. Obviously my body was craving some serious nutrition. I think I’m starting to get really accustomed to the readily available and easily digestible nutrition present in smoothies. I’m a convert.

This one i did photograph and I’m glad because I really enjoyed it. It came out a really funny colour but that only added to my enjoyment of it!

In the mix was: half a frozen banana, about half a cup of frozen blueberries, handful of spinach, 7 soaked almonds (to enhance digestibility), almond milk and chilled green tea to equal 1/2 cup, and 1/4 scoop of Vega One.  Mmmm completely satisfying. Didn’t mind at all that it looked like I was eating asphalt sludge ;)

really like having smoothies in bowls, feels like dessert! 

close-up of my spoon. love it. snagged it from one of my favourite little cafés in Dublin.

 And while I did love my smoothie, I am now FROZEN. Off to drink some tea…I am thinking the Zen Chai from Teopia- it’s a green tea with chai spices and a little mint. It’s very warming so seems to fit the bill!

What are your favourite smoothie ingredients? Anything I should know about now that I seem to be having more than one a day??

2 thoughts on “chilling out

  1. Have you ever tried peanut flour in a smoothie? my favorite is a frozen banana, vanilla soy or almond milk, peanut flour, and sometimes cocoa powder… tastes like the most decadent dessert! plus peanut flour has a good dose of protein and fiber :)

    • Yum! I haven’t even tried peanut flour before (can’t seem to find it in the stores here, but I actually am going to order some in the next week, so I will have to try that. Thanks for the tip :)

*Comments make my day*

