lemony millet pancakes

Happy Family Day to everyone in Ontario! I hope you are all enjoying the extra day of rest, or are at least getting paid well to work! For me, this is my last day before I officially start my new job. I’m actually really excited! The orientation went well on Friday so I think it will be good and besides I really do need to start saving some money for the fall.

It’s funny though, as soon as I realized that today was my final day of freedom, I started missing all of these things I never really did to begin with- I won’t be able to sleep in anymore! No more lazy morning pancake breakfasts : (. But even if I never got to partake in them, the option was there. But no more, and this makes me sad.

So this morning I decided to rectify at least one of these misfortunes- pancakes! I decided to fiddle around with my own recipe since pancake ratios are pretty easy- 4:4:2:1. So 4 parts flour, 4 parts milk, 2 parts egg and 1 part fat. I decided to make them vegan and gluten-free so I just had to fiddle around with flour combinations and replace the egg with a flax egg and I was good to go! I chose to use millet flour to give a nutritional boost to the otherwise treat of a breakfast. Millet is loaded with important nutrients like manganese, tryptophan, magnesium and is a great source of fiber (See the World’s Healthiest Foods page on millet for more on this amazing grain)! I used brown rice flour as well since it’s not as heavy as millet and potato starch to give them some lightness. I used avocado oil as the fat since it has a high smoke point and is neutral tasting and subbed in some applesauce as well so they weren’t too heavy.

These pancakes have a really nice nutty taste from the millet flour which is complimented really well by the lemon. They aren’t fluffy pancakes, but are thin, which is exactly the way my grandma always made hers so they suited me just fine! Great with fresh berries and maple syrup (or even blueberry syrup would be lovely if you’re feeling fancy-schmancy).

I also apologize ahead of time for the weighted measurements. When you’re baking with ratios, scales are really the way to go and I didn’t keep track of volumes as I went.

Lemony Millet Pancakes (Vegan, Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free)

Serves 3 

Dry ingredients

  • 70 g millet flour
  • 70 g brown rice flour
  • 60 g potato starch
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Wet ingredients

  • juice and zest of 1/3 lemon + enough unsweetened almond milk to equal 200 g
  • 100 g flax egg (3 tbsp ground flax mixed with 6 tbsp water)
  • 25 g unsweetened applesauce
  • 25 g avocado oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 5 drops stevia

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl and the wet in a medium bowl. Pour the wet into the dry and mix. The great thing about gluten-free baking is you don’t have to worry about over-mixing- no gluten to overdevelop! Let sit for a few minutes to thicken. I used this time to tidy up a bit and preheat my griddle on the stove over medium heat.

Grease the griddle or pan and pour batter in with a laddle once hot. Wait until bubbles form all over the surface and it looks almost dry before flipping. Cook for another couple minutes after flipping. Keep completed pancakes in an oven around 200°F to keep warm and repeat with remaining batter!

Serve with fresh berries and maple syrup.

oh hello there raspberry!

mmm syrupy goodness

These were filling, but not heavy and nice and fresh tasting. Exactly what a pancake should be.

Have a great Family Day!

I am submitting this recipe to Allergy-Free Wednesdays at http://tessadomesticdiva.blogspot.com/2012/02/allergy-free-wednesdays-6.html and Gluten-Free Wednesdays at http://glutenfreehomemaker.com/2012/03/gluten-free-wednesdays-3-7-12/ :)

UPDATE: This just got accepted to tastespotting!!!! http://www.tastespotting.com/detail/156625/Lemon-Millet-Pancakes

10 thoughts on “lemony millet pancakes

  1. Gabby~ I just have to tell you, I am ELATED to have found your blog (made possible through Whole New Mom who posted your Date-Sweetened Banana Bread). Another detail I must admit is, I am rarely drawn to blog sites for the fear that they may become “time robbers” for me (also it takes a bit more for me than the average joe to become intrigued enough to WANT to read someone’s blog. I’m usually bored very quickly. Sad but true). :o But I also must add, not only do I find your recipes to be JUST what I’m looking for in my search for “healthier” options, but your style of writing is quite inviting (can I just say, it’s refreshing to read someone’s blog who actually knows HOW to write and express themselves in a fun but also succinct way!). Again, I am glad to have found you and I so look forward to being introduced to more wonderfully healthy pleasures from your blog. And I thank you for making your wit and knowledge available to all who follow you. :) ~ Warmly, Dana

    • Wow Dana thank you! Really, from the bottom of my heart. I started blogging because I just felt so passionately about the subject and felt I was going to burst if I didn’t share it all! I feel so honoured that you have come to enjoy my blog, despite not being particularly drawn to other ones. Connecting with people like you makes me feel like I’m headed the right way in life and that I’m not just hitting publish and no one really cares. As long as I have one reader, you, who appreciate and enjoy what I am writing that’s all that matters and I will continue to plug away :) Before I started blogging I never considered myself to be a good writer, except in terms of writing more technical research papers. I just try to be myself and I’m so glad that it comes across in such a positive way! I cannot express how much I appreciate and cherish your kind words!

      I’m so glad you like my recipes! I am not the kind of person who wants to spend hour preparing complicated dishes, no matter how much I love coking and food! Healthy should and can be easy!

      Anyway, thank you so much Dana :) I hope to hear a lot more from you, you seem like you have great insight and thoughts and I’ve just loved connecting with you! Take care :)

  2. Pingback: Leibster /Very Inspiring Blogger/Versatile Blogger Awards! | Tessa the Domestic Diva

  3. Fantastic recipe! I love avocado oil. So awesome.

    Thank you for sharing this week on AFW! Be sure to check back next week for reader favorites and hostess picks.

    Be Well,
    –AFW Hostesses

*Comments make my day*

