hemp seed fudge bites

Hello! I hope you are enjoying various long weekend activities, that are hopefully a little more exciting than mine. However, if you, like me, love the quiet life of cozying up with a good book and a mug of tea then maybe excitement is overrated : ).

Image

This being my first real post I’m not really sure where to start! BUT I do know I want to share this awesome recipe for hemp fudge bites I made yesterday!

I bought a bag of Manitoba Harvest hemp seeds a while ago from one of the local health food stores here, Tara Foods, because I had been reading loads about how they are nutritional powerhouses! They are loaded with digestible protein, omega fats, fiber and loads of vitamins and minerals like thiamine, iron, manganese, phosphorus and zinc. Being someone who struggles with maintaining iron levels and has digestive troubles, these seemed like a perfect way to supplement my salads. BUT as good as they were on top of salads, I knew there had to be a more creative and tasty was to use these. That’s when I came across Some Like it Raw‘s hemp fudgies recipe and just new I had to try them. Anything that combines chocolate into a healthy snack is a-okay by me!

Hemp Seed Fudge Bites (Raw, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Refined-Sugar Free, adapted from Some Like it Raw’s recipe)

yields 15-22 bites depending on how big you make them

  • 1 cup shelled hemp seeds (I used Manitoba Harvest Hemp Hearts)
  • 4 tbsp cacao powder
  • 16 pitted dates (I used Parnoosh honey dates- to be honest I forgot to count how many I used but I started with 8 then threw more in one at a time till I got the consistency I wanted)*
  • 1 tbsp agave (any liquid sweetener would work here)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • coconut flakes/more cacao powder to roll the bites in

First put the hemp seed and the cacao powder in a blender or food processor to combine. Then add the dates in one by one until you get a “batter” that will stick together when you form it into balls. It will look a little crumbly, but that’s ok.

Next add in the agave, vanilla and salt and pulse until combined. Scoop out the mixture and roll in to little balls and put on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Next I took out 2 plates and in one put unsweetened coconut flakes and in the other, more cacao powder. I rolled half the balls in the coconut and half in the cacao powder and set back on the baking sheet.

Transfer the baking sheet to the freezer for about 30 min for the balls to firm up then store in the fridge. And try not to eat them all with in a day! Is it embarrassing that between me and my parents we have now eaten all but 2 of these?

*In her version, Sabine says to soak the dates beforehand. I forgot to do this and didn’t want to wait so I just threw them in. So hers were smoother and more fudgey looking, whereas mine were almost cake-like, which I loved!

These were dense, chocolately little treats that have the texture of cake and all the nutrition of hemp seeds rolled into one! In fact, next time I make them I might just try to make them into raw cake balls, by melting coconut oil and mixing with cacao powder and dipping them in! Hmmmm…..

I’m contributing this recipe to: Wellness Weekend at http://www.dietdessertndogs.com/2012/02/23/wellness-weekend-february-23-27-2012/, Slighty Indulgent Tuesday at http://simplysugarandglutenfree.com/slightly-indulgent-tuesday-030612/, Allergy Friendly Friday at http://www.cybelepascal.com/allergy-friendly-friday-22412-and-3212/ and Allergy Friendly Lunchbox Love at http://simplysugarandglutenfree.com/slightly-indulgent-tuesday-030612/ ;)

I selected this post to be featured on Vegan Blogs. Please visit the site and vote for my blog!

10 thoughts on “hemp seed fudge bites

  1. Pingback: superfoods: hemp and maca | the veggie nook

  2. Pingback: Anti-candida, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  3. Those look really good! I’m all for dessert recipes that don’t involve baking. I’ve never used hemp seeds in cooking, but this seems like a great way to try them!

*Comments make my day*

